a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



"...Do you think my husband is a good lover?"
2003-04-02 4:21 p.m.

Well, I got into another show! Like I have the time.

I auditioned for the one-act play festival that my troupe sponsors - mostly because of my respect for some of the directors and playwrights involved.

Oh, and the scripts were pretty durn good! It's a showcase for student-written work, but the people we have in this organization are really quite talented.

The best part is that I got cast in a piece written by one of my favorite people ever - ComposerMatt. he's just an amazing person.

He's a composition major, and he's already written 2 musicals (that have been performed) for our troupe, and he's written music for two other shows outside of our troupe. And that's aside from all of the work he does for the Music Department.

Furthermore, he's a great director, and he's a good administrator too. He served on my Board of Directors last year when I was President of the troupe - he was my Artistic Director - and he did a wonderful, dignified job.

There was one particular incident that just showed his character in all of its colors. He proposed a script for a musical he had written, and it was rejected because it wasn't finished enough for production.

Others in the organization threw a hissy fit, saying that we were ignoring our roots as a student-written theatre organization, blah, blah, blah.

But ComposerMatt wrote me an email a day or two later and said:

I just wanted to say that I bear no hard feelings towards anybody on the board and I will try my best to keep the board dynamic the same as it has been, which I do not think will be hard, as this is really a little thing in the scope of a lifetime, you know? It may seem big to me now, but in retrospect it will seem small. Oh well. I just wanted to let you know that.

Such amazing grace and maturity and professionalism.

ComposerMatt took the rejection as a challenge, and re-proposed the show with revisions to great success a few weeks later.

I have so much respect for him, it's amazing. I want nothing but the greatest success and happiness for him, and he would completely deserve all of it.

He's just one of those people you feel blessed to know, and even more blessed when you have the opportunity to work with them.

Oh, and he's British. So funny.

Aaaanyywhooo, time for me to stop gushing about ComposerMatt. The point is, he wrote the show I just got cast in, and he seemed quite happy about the cast, so I'm happy. And the other two actors are great fun too.

The show is called "Fidelity", and it deals, as you might guess, with cheating. I'm the "other woman" (well, the first of many as it turns out), and my choreographer for Into the Woods, Darren, is my "lover". Darren's just so much fun, and also a great talent.

My friend Katie rounds out the cast as Darren's wife. Katie's such a sweet person. I think I scare her just a little. She's timid, and I'm ... well, not timid. Yeah. At parties, she looks at me like I might just sprout a second head at any minute. :) heehee.

AND! One of the first characters I've played in awhile that is not a) physically abused (ophelia, lucinda) or somewhat mentally challenged (ophelia, doris). Huzzah!

(Well, this character, Ann, is a little slow, but she's more naieve than stupid. And who's counting?)

As a stereotype, I'm obviously not an ingenue. But at least all the characters I play are scripted as attractive, even if they are insane. Insane can be fun...

Just about a week until Into the Woods. Where's my damn poofy dress?

I think it's going to be a good couple of weeks.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter