a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



pretentious self-advertisement
2003-10-25 11:40 a.m.

The name's Athena. Muppetathena.

Current Occupation: Video Game Producer

Current Location: The East Bay [California]

Current Age: 22 years old

Hobbies: Acting, dancing, painting, singing, playing video games, consuming alcohol, and maximizing the physical distance between myself and my parents.

Things you never wanted to know about me, but I'm telling you anyway:

1. "I was a teenage Muppet" - I worked at this theme park as a character and performer for 3 seasons. During my heyday, I portrayed 12 different characters: Grover, Cookie Monster, Bert, Ernie, Elmo, Rosita, Zoe, The Count, Oscar, Telly, Honker, and Jackman Wolf. Grover and Cookie were my favorites. :)

2. I'm obsessed with Pokemon. I have many, many Pikachus in my apartment. I have also spread this obsession to my boyfriend, who is obsessed with Togepi.

3. I graduated from college in 2002 with a degree in Computer Science and Human-Compter Interaction. (Yes, I am a geek girl.)

4. On the subject of education, I was a Master's student in Entertainment Technology for awhile. Until I couldn't get loans to cover my second year in the program and had to drop out.

5. When I was 4, my idea of "light bedtime reading" was taking the VCR manual to bed with me.

6. I've been clinically depressed several times. I took Prozac for two years but have been off the stuff since January 2003.

7. In college, I did lots of acting - improv and scripted. Favorite plays include "Into the Woods" [I played Florinda] and "Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead" [I played Ophelia.]

8. At work, I am currently developing games for the Game Boy Advance.

9. The first video game I worked on was this one. Try and guess which in-game text I wrote! :)

10. I'm also obsessed with Disney theme parks.

11. One of my dreams came true when I got to work at Disney World for a summer as an interface designer for 2 big technology projects.

12. I have two brothers - Doug and Kyle. Both younger.

13. Doug is studying broadcast journalism at a prestigious school in Boston.

14. Kyle wants to be like his big sister. He's even looking at the same schools.

15. Like most of my peers, I have ridiculously bad vision.

16. I was an Internet geek back in the early days. I even dated someone that I met online in a BBS [early text-based chat communities].

17. My favorite video games are probably "The Legend of Kyrandia" series and "Sam and Max Hit the Road." Oh, and anything with Pikachu in it.

18. I can't have vitamins with excess iron in them. I'm reverse anemic or something.

19. I have been dating my beloved boyfriend Hunter for 4 years.

20. No, we're not getting married yet. :P

21. I am a natural blonde, despite my mother's constant insistence that it would change color.

22. My mother has straight hair but her gray hairs are coming in white and tightly curled. This will also be my fate - a 5 year transitional period where I look like an electrocuted poodle.

23. Favorite movies include Moulin Rouge, Dirty Dancing, Beauty and the Beast, Lilo and Stitch, American Beauty, Waiting for Guffman/Best In Show/A Mighty Wind, etc. etc. etc.

24. My mother's best friend's sister is married to the director of the first two Harry Potter movies. I am aware that this is mildly akin to the Spaceballs connection between Lone Star and Dark Helmet.

25. My high school was huge. My graduating class had 750 people in it. After the dropouts.

26. I've gone whitewater rafting. I felt it was very hardcore at the time. It also made my ass hurt.

27. Places I want to visit: Switzerland, Italy, Japan [although I am reconsidering due to my work escapades...], France.

28. In high school, I did Forensics, which was NOT the study of dead bodies. It was speech and debate - I most often competed in Extemp, Lincoln-Douglas debate, and Oral Interpretation. I often got a lot of crap about my short skirts that came with the suits my mother bought me. Sigh.

28. On the subject of clothes my mother used to buy me - I think my mother secretly wants me to be a ho.

29.This is not my first online diary. I used to have one at Open Diary - back in 1998-1999. This is so much better.

30. I also love ballroom dancing. I did it formally during my first year or so of college, and recreationally after that. I sometimes go swing dancing in the city [=San Francisco], although I'd like to do more Latin dancing too.

31. I've crawled around in the Haunted Mansion at Disney World at 2 in the morning.

32. I'm currently trying to teach myself Japanese.

33. My father is manic depressive. He tried to kill my brother once.

34. I'm also a board game geek. My particular favorites are Settlers/Cities&Knights/Seafarers of Catan and Puerto Rico, but there are many other good ones out there.

35. I've done stained glass pieces. It's very enjoyable, but the tools are expensive.

36. I have driven a 15-foot-tall saxophone [at Sesame Place].

Yeah. That's all for now. You don't need any more of the gory details, and I can't think of any besides. If y'all have questions about stuff, you can just plop them in the guestbook. Welcome to my journal.

playing:
This is where I tell you what video game I'm playing

reading:
This one's self explanatory.

feeling:
This is where I tell you how @#$@ing stressed-out I am.

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter