a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



this is a diary ENTRY
2004-02-18 3:54 p.m.

Everyone's got their little email quirks.

They don't capitalize their 'i's. They use emoticons more frequently than vowels. They turn everything into an acronym. (OMFGROFLYBVYES!!)

For my boss, the Quirk is random capitalization of words. She mainly does it for emphasis, but sometimes it gets a little silly, e.g. "We need to get the manual TEXT to SHANE. Can someone EMAIL him?"

She even does it in AIM, as it turns out: "OK - Need to scoot - Jeremy is here for a while working on BLUETOOTH if anything comes up, just mail him."

No need to waste the Shift key on me. I think I get the message. ;)


The whole moving thing. Ew. So my boss told one of the execs that we were having problems, and the exec emailed me asking what the concerns were.

Now, I really don't see how I can send my concerns without seeming like a whinybitch. It's a no-win situation. Send the concerns and seem demanding or don't send them and don't get any help, which we really need.

Sigh.


I have this little weather channel temperature thingie running on my desktop. It's a little icon in my system tray that has the temperature in it.

The thing is - for the past 2 months I do not believe I have ever seen this temperature thing say anything but 50 degrees.

This must be a conspiracy.


It's actually quite beautiful today, in an eclectic way. I just took a short break to visit Target for a classic bread-and-makeup run. The sky is almost split in two - one half is clear blue with a shining sun, and the other half is covered in thick, dark, grey-black clouds that are covering the mountains. Even though it's not the prettiest sight in the world, it always seems somehow magical when the skies seem to be fighting about the weather.


I have another trainer session tonight at 9PM with Bobby. This will be #6 of my 10 sessions.

At first, Bobby seemed like a clean-cut, straight edge guy.

However, sometime during the last week or two he decided to stop projecting that image so much. Now he talks a lot about smoking up. You know, it's fine if you want to do that and everything but it seems counterintuitive for a trainer to do drugs.

He did tell me that I reminded him of the Princess Bride, which I found to be quite a nice compliment (and Lord knows I was in a mood where I needed one at that point.)

But the new vibe is just a little weird and off-putting for me. I can't figure the guy out.

But I still don't regret the sessions - they're making a visible difference.

[Even though I will never be able to drop a pant size ever due to my massively large hips.]

Seriously. They're huge. I'm still waiting for the Postal Service to issue them a zip code.

I just wish the whole workout thing didn't hurt *quite* so much. I'm not a big fan of post-workout nausea.


Last but not least, I wish to voice my confusion over the growing similarities between my workplace and my ex-grad program.

Just arrived in my inbox: "NEW! Distinguished Professor Lecture Series"

Weirder still is that it's the director of LakLak and M3's grad program.

Personally, I'm more excited about a talk that's going on at SimParentCompany's main campus next week, given by Scott McCloud, who wrote the excellent book Understanding Comics. I really want to go to that, despite the two-hour commute. I wonder if I can convince Hunter to go.

As for me, this entry has been writing itself for hours now, so I shall put it out of its misery and go back to sifting through the bug database. Woooooo boy. Happy Wednesday.



playing:
Puzzle Pirates

reading:
Bug reports

feeling:
Blah

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter