a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



chips 'n' calls
2004-02-20 12:12 p.m.

Well, our moving situation still sucks, but at least the bug database at work is no longer causing an international crisis.

I had to get up earlier than usual today so that I could run a teleconference with our developers in London and our publisher representative in Canada.

Ha! You'd think I was important or something.

(I hate having to operate on London time. I am NOT a morning person, especially when it means 2 hours of trying-to-get-everything-done-before-10AM-when-they-go-home-for-the-day.)

The call could have resulted in some sort of diplomatic incident, because the rep is less than intelligent, and the folks at the developer studio don't get along very well with him at all.

It didn't help my calm when I found out that the developer's CEO wanted to participate in the call. He's quite the snarky one. (In a good way, but it seems to rub N*kia the wrong way.)

But everyone played nice and friendly, and it seems like everyone came out happy in the end.

Meanwhile, testers can finally close their bugs in the project DB, ending a week of terse emails between myself and the testing admins.

How terribly exciting, I know.


Yesterday I received a postcard from my boss, who is still in London. (Actually, she's in Paris for the weekend. Grrrrrrr.)

I'm not entirely sure why, but she writes about "chips" (e.g. french fries) for the entire card.

That's my boss.


Tonight, we are driving down to San Jose to stay at Larn and Obi's for the evening. This way we do not have to wake up at 7 on a saturday morning again to do apartment shopping.

This was Hunter's plan. It's ingenious. We spend the evening playing board games [I MISS board games!] and drinking a lot, and then we're closer to our appointments in the morning!

Of course, I've been purposely avoiding alcohol (for the most part) since that big bar binge after the move announcement. There is a very rational part of me that knows it is not a good idea to mix the nastier bouts of depression with drinking - god forbid I end up treating the depression with booze.

But tonight I think it will be OK. Generally, if I haven't been walking around and not talking all day (and assuming I'm not breaking large appliances for fun) then alcohol is generally safe for consumption. Right?

playing:
Puzzle Pirates. I might be getting hooked.

reading:
"Game Pre-Certification Report"

feeling:
Grey

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter