a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



cold and the box
2003-01-03 2:18 p.m.

cold and rainy again! awesome!

today I had a meeting about a job. This is something that perplexes me, and makes me wonder about how the universe works a little more than I should.

You see, JUST as my TA job was ending last semester, the design firm I interned at 18 months ago called me. This design firm recently laid off most of my old department.

But they were calling...to offer me a job.

Not a full-time job, or anything. Basically, 15 hours a week at $17/hour. (this works out to more than my TA stipend, if I do consistent time.) It's like the universe was looking out for me before I even had time to look out for myself. Jobs don't just come find you in this economy - but this one did.

And I finally got to see my boss' office, which was remodeled after I left and filled knee-deep with orange playpen balls. They have meetings in there. In the orange balls.

I'm never going to have to grow up.

But it's good, interesting interface design work, and my schedule has the daytime space in it for me to hold down an office job. So I will. I'd be nuts not to take a job that was handed to me like that.

******

We got a misdirected package yesterday, and I don't know what to do with it.

Problem is, it's the *correct* address, but we've never heard of the name. The person doesn't even seem to live in the building!

So, do we open it? Keep it? Throw it out? Use it as a paperweight??

Won't do any good to return it to the post office, because it would just come back to our house.

I'm kind of perplexed. It's very odd. So the box just sits there, laughing at us in our entry hallway.

The box wins...this round.

******

Since there's a Victoria's Secret in walking distance, I took advantage of their awesome bi-annual sale. I got tons of stuff for about $100 - 3 bras, 7 pairs of panties, and a mesh/leopard print babydoll lingerie set. (originally $80, now $25!) It's really my first purely showy lingerie purchase. Hunter was very excited when I told him about it. ;)

******

In other news, I'm leaving for California tomorrow. This means I'm not going to be around to update until the 13th. I'm not *terribly* worried... after all, I don't really have many "regular" readers...not that it wouldn't make me happy or anything. I'm sure I'll have plenty to write about after our trips to Disneyland and ILM and Pixar and Vegas, though, so stay tuned...

I'm excited about California! (gee, what a surprise.) Hunter says Reagan wants to room with me, and that's just gonna be awesome. AND we are going to meet up with our friends from my freshman year - Larn (former best friend), Larn's boyfriend Obi, and Hardouin, an old dance partner of mine.

Apparently Larn is planning drunken trolley rides in San Francisco. Lots of liquor and old friends!

SO EXCITED! Toot toot!

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter