a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



Deconstructing CFWs
2003-03-02 6:11 p.m.

I've finally managed to procure plane tickets. I will be leaving in about 12 hours for California to attend the Game Developer's Conference as a Conference Associate.

I'm pretty excited...but i'm worried about missing a week's worth of work. It's going to be hanging over my head big-time.

*****

I had an interesting conversation with Reagan today about college-friend weddings. She recently attended the wedding of my ex-roommate, Emily, from whom I became estranged when I moved out because I refused to tolerate her best friend, who was and is a crack dealer, and his little moody outbursts.

Anyway, she was remarking on the separation of high school, college, and family personalities at these weddings. I remarked that it's completely weird to be introduced as "college friends" - from my childhood, "college friends" are people in their 40's who tell lame inside jokes and dance badly.

Well, I guess we're two out of three...

I don't know if I have more "college-friend weddings" (we'll call them CFWs from now on) coming up. I know FOUR couples who are engaged...

The first couple: Bride's best friend hates my guts. I rejected the groom when he thought he was in love with me (before these two met) in favor of Hunter, who I'm still dating. Did I mention that the groom was best friends with Hunter at the time?

The second couple: I actually might get invited to this one. Friends with both of them. They're fellow "old-skool" members of my theatre troupe and Board of Directors veterans like me.

The third couple: Larn and Obi, who I am staying with this week in CA. I might get invited...but this is the same group of friends where Emily hates my guts, her crack-dealing best friend alternates between liking me and wanting to kill me, and there's also the fact that I was sort of estranged from them for a year or two. and, of course, this wedding may never happen.

The fourth couple: I co-starred with the groom in an improv show my freshman year, and so I know him and his bride-to-be (but less so than Hunter.) There's still plenty of awkwardness in that group - (I'll always be the "other woman" in that group thanks to my sordid affairs with Don) - but I think we'll be invited nontheless.

And then there's the potentials: high school friend might be getting engaged in a month or two, for example.

The funniest part is that by all mathematical measures, Hunter and I should totally be engaged if these people are all getting married.

But I'm not going to go there. That's both weird and completely natural, but now is not the time for such thoughts.

*****

So I'll be in CA, which means that I probably won't be posting, since all computer access I'll have will be in public. But I'd love to get people signing my guestbook...come on, leave me a happy smile note for when I get back. I'll need it...next week is going to suck.

Until then, have a lovely week.



playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter