a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



better than a spot of tea
2003-08-08 6:08 p.m.

I just walked into our development director's office - following sounds of laughter I detected following the office-wide "TGIF" free-food-and-drinks event.

About 4 engineers and another producer were there, and Melissa, the DD, offered us all a round of drinks from the amazing stock of liquor she has in her office cabinet.

"Lighter than books, and has contributed much more to shipping product besides." she says.

(Even as I type, I hear the clinking glasses of another round...)

Melissa's awesome. Not only is she bedecked in a Strong Bad T-shirt today, but she also grew up in Pennsylvania and is a funny yet successful woman - so rare in this industry! (And she has kids!)

I had a nice glass of Bailey's - first time I've ever had it straight, and I must say, I need to buy some straight away! Quite lovely on its own, and now I know what the missing ingredient in my chocolate martinis is.

[I love martinis, except of course that which is a "real" martini. Best way to get tipsy without all of that pesky "non-alcoholic" liquid getting in the way.]

I'm sad to leave this group just as I'm beginning to feel at home with them. At least I can be here for the big crunch this weekend. Go alpha go!

On my way back from the kitchen [we are, dreadfully, maximized in distance from both kitchens and both bathrooms] where I was rinsing my glass, I ran into Morgan, who will be my boss on the console team. To be honest, I have been quite nervous as I haven't heard anything official from them since our mini-interview.

But he greeted me enthusiastically, and then, with a Dr. Evil expression, told me how much work they've got lined up for me. I told him I was glad of it - noting as I've felt so underutilized from time to time on this team!

But he also asked when my end date was - and I mentioned it was the 17th of December, "but the rest is negotiable."

"That's what I wanted to hear," he said. Apparently, we've added a SKU, and it needs to ship in January or February. That means I'll be needed until then - the title I'm about to work on is scheduled to "go gold" in late October.

The longer I can stay out here, the better chance I have of endearing myself and securing a full-time offer. Besides, what I'm making is the equivalent of a respectable salary (not including overtime) and it's certainly better than nothing!

That also means...well, a new game credit for certain, so I'll have at least 2. That's enough to actually say I'm a member of the industry. ;)

All in all, I'm feeling lightly buzzed, light on my feet, and glad to know I'm needed in the near and distant future.

Cheers to Bailey's, Melissa, and my time on the expansion pack. Huzzah!

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter