a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



speaking in tongues
2003-06-22 12:30 p.m.

I'm at work on a Sunday.

This is not actually that hard-core; after all, this year in school, I was technically "at work" 7 days a week, usually.

My friends act like this is a horrible fate. Yes, a horrible fate to be working at a videogame company on a weekend.

Truth be told, coming into work is nice, because they have the INTERNET here. I can find out what the weather is like! Check my bank account! Surf Ebay! And post to Diaryland!

And all without worrying that I'm being inefficient, like I do during the week.

I'm in today for several reasons. First of all, I cut out of work on Friday to go see the Hulk with some guys from the Art department on my team. I was totally flattered that they deemed me "cool enough" to go see a comic book movie with them (no "she's a girl" syndrome or anything), so I was definitely all about going. But that means I have 2 hours of work to make up to hit 40 hours this week.

There's also the problem of localization. Video games are released in many countries. For our SimGame, it's 16 countries at once.

But that means that you need to translate your game, and all related assets, into 16 languages.

This is sometimes cool - for example, I've already written some object descriptions for the game, and that means my writing will be translated into all 16 languages and read all over the world. Pretty nifty.

Right now, I'm in charge of a particular download set for our website. It's a series of music downloads, and we want to include the liner notes we designed as part of the download.

But the liner notes are in English.

So, I sent the liner notes in Photoshop files to our localization department, who forwarded those files to our offices around the world.

Apparently, none of our offices around the world HAVE Photoshop. OR anything remotely similar.

Well, that's not entirely true. Japan localized the files just fine. ("Japan's awesome", says the head of localization.) China and Korea and Thailand also sent back localized versions.

I should send them brownies or something.

Sadly, all of the LAZY ASS European territories don't know or care how to use Photoshop. Instead, they sent me back Excel spreadsheets with the text translations, leaving me to do the artwork. Let's not even go into how they were all late to begin with - I was supposed to get these files on Thursday, not Friday night.

So I now have to edit these Photoshop files to get them to the Web group before Tuesday. I don't even have all of the translations yet. And I just found out that one of the photoshop files isn't layered, so it means plenty of time with the clone tool to blank out English text and replace it.

Merde.

Oh well. At least I got to watch the territories ask us, "How do you translate 'Horny Cabaret Mix?'"

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter