a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



my dance card is full
2003-06-19 6:22 p.m.

My calves still hurt from trying the Death Drop on Tuesday night.

It was my second time at the Swing nights in San Francisco, and when Jenna taught the class my favorite move from our old undergrad dancing days, I went a little overboard.

Ow.

But it was good fun. I was worried it would be tremendously awkward once I found out it was only Jenna and myself this week - but in reality, I never got a free moment to myself once the open dancing started.

(The ride over in the car was interesting - Jenna's mom called, and started talking incessantly about "furniture orgasms", disturbing Jenna to no end. I got to see the lead game designer on my team shouting "Mom! MOM!" like she was in middle school. Wacky.)

I was quite the little commodity on the dance floor, if I do say so myself! The only time I wasn't dancing for more than 2 minutes was when I purposely went to the bathroom to avoid being asked. (I had to do this at least 7 times so that I didn't fall over from exhaustion. Yay exercise, I guess.)

If only guys had asked me to dance that much in middle school...

Anyway, I found a couple of pretty good dancers that kept coming back for more. There were also a few beginners that I danced with.

I started a conversation with one of those beginners while we were dancing (not much else one can do when all they know is the basic and one turn!)

Athena: "So, what do you do?"
Partner: "I make computer games."
Athena: "That's funny - so do I!"
Partner: "Really?!?! Where do you work?"
Athena: "SimCompany."
Partner: "Me too!! I'm on the SimOnlineGame team!"

Not only does he work on SimOnlineGame, he works closely with my friend Jon, who helped me get the interview here.

It's a small Bay Area, apparently.

So that was Andrew, and there was Sergei, who I danced with quite a bit. He is an AI researcher for an Internet search-type-company somewhere in the area. Actually, Andrew and I talked about SimCompany for quite awhile once we discovered our connection, and I noticed Sergei was waiting mildly impatiently for our conversation to end.

Well, Sergei, you can just wait your turn.

(Seriously, though, he seemed to like dancing with me a little too much. I wish he hadn't latched onto me quite so much. I didn't see him dancing with very many other people...)

A very tall and lanky guy asked me to dance with him twice - the first time was regular ol' swing dancing, and I nearly flew right off the floor. (My dancing shoes were a tad slippery on that bare wooden floor, and he was a very strong lead.) But he was also very good. Seems to be a common theme.

I was especially excited when I got to dance with this guy (Mike?) again during the cha-cha -- much as I may be loathe to admit it, I do miss "proper" ballroom quite a bit, so I love a bit of variety in my dancing. The guy's face was priceless when he saw that I knew what I was doing. :)

I also danced with some people from last time: the crazy-talented Indian man whose name I cannot pronounce and Lucky, the also-very-talented Asian dancer guy.

I still love the cordial nature of the nights there - gentlemen and ladies out for a nice evening. The lessons are fun too - and it helps that I get in for free. :)

Unfortunately, Hunter was again unable to come. I really hope he can come out dancing soon. I'd have so much fun, and I think he'd enjoy it too - we love making shit up on the dance floor, so learning a few things will probably be great too.

Soon. I hope.

But I'm already starting to learn names at the club, and establish dancing "acquaintances" - if I'm not careful, I could get addicted to the scene. Especially if Hunter and even Larn and Obi get involved! (Larn has expressed strong interest in coming too - oh, goodness, that would be tremendous fun!)

Things are coming back to me quickly, and I'm becoming a better follow, too.

I have noticed, however, that guys really like to spin me around a heck of alot. That's really my strong point in all of this - I spin very well. :) Sounds silly, but it's true. Guys watch me dancing, they see that, and suddenly I'm being led in quadruple and quintuple spin sequences across the floor. I'm like a fucking top or something.

Wheee.

So, until next week, I'll nurse my injured calf muscles and try to clear my calendar.

Swingin', baby.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter