a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



ira and the seven plagues of California
2003-09-11 4:28 p.m.

Well, it's not quite seven plagues yet, but I'm waiting.

As I mentioned briefly, Ira, our friend and fellow grad student, has begun to work for SimCompany as a co-op along with us.

Ever since he arrived in our city, things have been going awry:

So, there you have it. I sure hope things return to normal soon. I would have included my family's recent drama in the list, but we all know not even an act of God could stop my family from being fucking insane.


In other news, I got my very first international phone call yesterday. (Welcome to Localization!)

I was (and still am) feeling particularly crappy, so I told Ira I was walking home early, and made an effort to pack up around 6PM.

Before I got on the elevator, though, I got a call from Hunter - letting me know his plane to RI had landed safe - but could I go log into his computer, since he had accidentally left critical files checked out?

Turned out they had already changed his password, gotten in, and checked in the files. Ok.

So I went to leave again, feeling overheated and tired. I had walked no further than the BART station next door (about 7 minutes walk from the office) when my cell phone rang. No caller ID. I picked up - "Is this Aatheena?" Hm. No caller ID. Broken Chinese-English accent. Ah! Of course. Must be Christine, our contact from SimParentCompany's Taiwan offices.

Well, I can't bloody well ignore a cell phone call from Taiwan, so I return to the office and take care of the problem. (We finally managed to get the immigration papers over to Christine's office in the meantime.) I didn't manage to get out of the office until 7:30.

Sigh. I feel so ick. And I felt so ick. But at least I felt competent and mildly important, right?

In other, other, news, I've dropped hints about full-time work, and my Development Director is looking into it. Keep your fingers crossed...

But right now, I need to go home. I feel so gross, having to blow my nose every minute or two. Ew. Like a frigging runny-nosed kindergartner. But life goes on... and work goes on and on and on.

playing:
SimCity 4

reading:
Nothing

feeling:
Feverish

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter