a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



need a scanner? dad can hook you up.
2002-12-22 11:23 p.m.

Sundays at home usually begin with our obligatory Mass at St. John's.

I must admit, when I woke up, I really wasn't trying my hardest to go. I don't agree with the Roman Catholic Church, and I especially don't agree with our parish at home.

So I spent most of the morning asking myself: "Do I actively get dressed and go downstairs? Or do I pretend I never woke up and see if they wake me up? Or do I refuse to go?"

(Another factor is that after Mass always comes the family lunch, but we know last week's episode didn't work too well in that respect. I have had quite enough of dining out with my family for THIS vacation.)

In the end, I decided not to decide. I went downstairs to get a bagel, and no one noticed me. After that, I got *dressed*, but then curled up in my bed and hugged Pichu.

But no word from my family. I heard the hurried footfalls of my mothers' heels...the rise of the garage door...and they were gone.

I didn't have to go and pretend we were a family! I didn't have to go pretend I was a Roman Catholic! Whoohoo!

I thought they'd be all pissy that I didn't come with them...but they didn't even bring it up later. That was lovely. I know my brother had a HUGE argument with them about not wanting to go (he no longer attends Mass) - maybe that rubbed off on me without a fight.

But I was REALLY not in the mood to do the whole dysfunctional-family-on-parade thing again. No thanks. So, God, if you're listening, thanks for the favor.

*****

After the ChurchLunch, Dad was home alone with me (Doug had gone Xmas shopping, as did Mom and Kyle.) I joined him in the den, and we got along as if nothing was wrong. We watched some TV - the second half of "Real Genius" - and I had lunch.

Sometimes, in what I guess is some lopsided attempt at making me feel welcome, he'll come out with the most random statements out of nowhere.

For example, in the middle of a conversation about the aforementioned movie: "And I have 2 scanners hooked up in the basement, if you need them."

When did I ask for scanners?? What did they have to do with our conversation? Is this some kind of secret code?

In general, Dad's been in a better mood than normal towards me. He even goes so far as to ask me to continue keeping him company, trying to prolong my visits to wherever he may be in the house.

Normally, Dad doesn't ever do anything so... human. He rarely says things like "don't go, athena!" , even in jest. But here he is, reaching out for my company (or so it seems) - even when he's doing work!

But despite all of this encouraging behaviour, he still hasn't talked to my mom or Kyle yet.

Sigh.

*****

I spent the rest of the day playing Super Mario RPG on the SNES, watching Pokemon tapes my brother lent me, and now, talking online.

My buddy list was such a mess!Duplicates everywhere! I assume I'm not the only person to have the "buddy creep" problem, where every buddy has 5 different aliases. And when do you delete people's aliases that look dead? It's all such uncharted etiquette.

But now that I'm rambling, it's time for me to go. It's been a long day of nothing, and I needed it.



playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter