a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



on psychotherapy
2003-07-16 5:51 p.m.

"I was raised by two and a half psychotherapists and I'm still sane."

So sayeth my team's lead designer as we were driving home from swing dancing last night.

It was a momentous night, since it was Hunter's first official swing lesson. We had agreed that we would go this one time, so he'd have gone at least once, since he's usually too busy to go. It seemed like this week wouldn't be as busy.

Until he found out the Executive VP was waiting for his design doc - right before we left.

No pressure.

But he still came, and seemed to have a good time during the lesson. I

t was good in general, because Jenna - our ride, the teacher of the swing class, and the aforementioned designer - is having a big blowout this weekend, and Hunter and I were invited. It was good for Hunter to meet some people who would be there so that we didn't feel as much like social rejects as we did at the 4th of July party.

We ended up staying really late, because Cory - an engineer on the SimSequel team - ended up mackin' it with a girl all night. We didn't want to break up the fun. ;)

He was being really cute and shy about it - hiding up in the balcony from time to time so that he didn't ask her to dance too much. Apparently, she's a psychotherapist, so she and Jenna got along swimmingly too.

The girl gave him 2 phone numbers and her email - (go Cory!) - but the kicker is that her email address was byui.edu.

Brigham Young. As in Mormons.

And we invited her to a big drunken party on Saturday. (she said yes...)

Good luck, man.


I'd just like to note that Hunter's desk is now located right outside Will Wright's office. Next to Will's Elvis shrine.

Thought you'd like to know.


Little news on the job front. Program director emailed me back - nothing much groundbreaking to say. "Sorry it took so long, been letting my old brain ruminate over your problem" or some such nonsense.

Jesse said he'd forward my resume to a few places.

Today, I saw a job posting that would be really, really awesome (although not a direct map to my education) and I replied to it almost immediately. I'm not going to mention where it is or anything, because I'd jinx it. But if you care, please keep your fingers crossed!

Maggie, one of my co-workers at Disney last summer, emailed me a response to a "hello" email I sent her. It was a really, really nice email. I hadn't really "talked" to her since going to her cocktail party after IAAPA in November, so I was afraid it would be awkward, but she wrote a long, informative, very friendly email. She says she can keep her eyes peeled for me in Orlando as far as jobs are concerned if I am looking... I'll write her back tomorrow since I didn't want to seem TOO desperate or anything, y'know. ;P

Hunter said that Lisa - supernice HR person - has been "working as hard as she can" to get me a co-op here.

Reportedly my group is happy with my work. I wouldn't know, because everyone's so gosh darned busy that they seem pretty indifferent. I think I've made some strides this week, though. I've taken on some crap tasks and gotten them out of the way fast for people, I took on a bunch more catalog text (Right now, about 25% of the new object text in the game is mine. :)

Ah, well. I just have to keep hoping and shutting up the little depression daemons in my head and everything will "work out in the end". Right?

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter