a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



cloudy with a chance of frogs
2003-07-25 10:24 a.m.

Another week, another company picnic.

THIS time, though, I'm wearing practical shoes, and I am fully prepared to participate in volleyball and minigolf.

Although I did forget my swimsuit...

I spent much of yesterday morning playing with the game. A funny bug got sent to the team - turns out an unfinished candle object treats all pets as end tables. I delighted in setting up my household pets in-game with butt candles and letting them confuse the heck out of the lighting render engine.

It's the little things. ;)

We (read: I) managed to successfully purchase liquor from Safeway yesterday, too. We checked out separately - I with a basket full of booze, Hunter with the groceries - at separate registers.

Not suspicious at all.

Of course, we're being forced to be suspicious despite the fact that we're legal, but that's beside the point.

California's weird. Did I mention that it was (gasp) cloudy for the FIRST time all summer on Wednesday? It felt...totally strange. Didn't even rain or anything. (And let's not talk about our gubernatorial troubles.)


We watched Magnolia last night as a mini-"celebration" (using the term very loosely) to the fact that our friend, fellow intern and fellow grad school alum Ray got a full-time offer from SimCompany. (The starting salary is [strongbad]pretty nice[/strongbad]...)

What the hell is UP with that movie? (Spoiler alert!)

I mean, here you are, watching the movie, willing to try and take it seriously 'cuz maybe it has something interesting to say that doesn't involve Tom Cruise's dick... and then frogs?!?

I think that's probably one of the more disgusting sequences in modern cinema.

But I did like the date scene between Claudia the drug addict and Phil the dottering cop. That exchange was strangely sweet and made me think a little. (It also made me glad I'm not a crack addict.)

Our friend Ira is driving up from LA this weekend - it's like an intern exchange program or something. :) On the agenda is the California Extreme gaming expo in San Jose, where I will commence playing pinball ALL DAY. w00t.

As with most weekends, I will most likely be away from a computer. (Now that I'm staying longer, maybe I can afford that new pooter I've been drooling over. I can dream...)

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter