a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



"challenge everything"
2003-07-24 10:27 a.m.

Every time I load the game we're making, I get the heebiejeebies.

Before the game can load, SimParent Company's 3D logo video must play, along with the accompanying voiceover - a creepy Haley Joel Osmont wannabe whispering "Challenge Everything" as if he saw dead Sims or something.

Ugh.

It really is creepy when it takes you by surprisee - and equally as frustrating after the 8th time you've loaded the game in a day.

Challenge yourself, little boy.


As I mentioned on Monday, things have seemingly improved. Go figure. Life's funny like that.

Now my time in California stretches before me again like a vast open canvas. We've extended our lease and everything.

On the subject of what I will be doing while here - I had a pretend interview with the console team yesterday, and they seem pretty psyched as pulling me onto their team as a jack-of-all-trades assistant producer. Sweet. The more stuff I can get experience at, the better. And this means I'll get simultaneous experience with developing a game for the PS2, Gamecube, Xbox, and GBA.

Pretty nifty.

If I'm really lucky, I'll get a game credit for those games. Meaning I'll have console experience I can list on my resum�.

And then maybe I have a shot at getting a job when I have to leave.

I can't tell you how many jobs in this industry say things like "IF YOU DO NOT HAVE CONSOLE DEVELOPMENT EXPERIENCE, DO NOT APPLY." Argh.

(editors note: the game is STILL loading. how's a girl supposed to get work done around here?)

But no matter, because console experience is suddenly in my future. Sweet. And the people seem pretty cool - especially the GBA producer. It's also a much more intense environment (how can anything be more intense than making a commercial PC product in 6 months?).

My hand is starting to act up, though - apparently I'm being more RSI-happy at this job than Disney. I've taken to using an old blue bandanna tied around my wrist and hand for support. Totally chic.

Oh yeah, baby.


I went dancing again on Tuesday night. There were fewer good leads, so it was a little dissapointing. There was also this really creepy older Asian guy that Jenna and I were both avoiding all night. The kind that just... watches... when he's not dancing. Scary.

Before dancing, we usually go to a chinese restaraunt that is cozily nestled between an adult toys shop and a topless dancers club.

Location, location, location!

We're always the only people in there, and we always order takeout and bring it back to the nightclub where dancing is held.

It's the most innocently bumbling restaraunt staff I've ever seen. The oldest woman, a small Chinese lady, is friendly but hopelessly confused. She often asks us for money twice, and never fails to offer us three or four rounds of fortune cookies and little hard candies, each time acting as if it's the first.

Her daughter/coworker/whatever usually sets her straight, managing the calculation of bills and handling of money. However, she too gets confused -
"How many orders of rice were there?"
"One for each of us."
"One order of rice? (shouts in chinese to kitchen)"
"Two orders? (shouts again, leaves room)"
"Three orders...miss? Miss?"

We usually leave with something approximating our order and what amounts to a dozen fortune cookies.

But the food's good.


I don't know what this weekend holds. It might mean seeing our friends from LA - or it might mean going to that party our old dancing "friend" Mike is throwing in San Francisco.

Or both!

We shall see. I think my game has finally loaded, so it's back to work for me.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter