a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



get on the bus. get on the drunky bus.
2003-06-06 9:26 a.m.

End Week 1 of the 2-Week Broke As Dirt game.

Today I've got a 1-on-1 meeting with my boss, which is good, because I can show him what I've been working on and try to finegle some more work for me out of him. :) He's so damn busy most of the time that I barely see him.

My boss isn't visually the lead producer type. He's always wearing a backwards newsboy hat and often wears things in loud shades of orange. When Hunter saw him, he certainly didn't think this guy headed up my entire team.

But he's cool, if not a tad inaccessible due to his schedule.

My workspace has magically moved. I am now "on a work surface outside cube 6479." [ Yes, that is a quote from the moving email. Office Space anyone? ]

But I actually like this spot better. While it was fun listening to my officemate Cooper troubleshoot defective CD's and ... intellectually challenged user groups ... my new desk is surrounded by windows - even above me! I also have a view of the picturesque California hills.

In all, this is much better. Even if it is a little more in the open. That way, people see me more, and they'll give me more work.

But..TODAY! At 2PM, I get to go to the ship party with my group, celebrating the success of their most recently released piece of work, which is doing quite well worldwide. Even though I didn't work on the title - it's a team thing.

So we're all going to pile onto a bus and drive to Dave and Buster's an hour away. In transit, the development director on my team is bringing her bartending supplies and we're all going to get drunk on the bus. Then we get free game tokens and coupons for free alcoholic drinks at D&B, and then a buffet dinner. And we have pool tables and shuffleboard tables reserved for us until we leave at 7.

During an implementation meeting yesterday, my boss and several other people made many mentions of getting completely smashed on the bus.

I think these are kindred spirits. :)

This morning, I was singing the "Drunky Bus" song. (A bastardization of a song from my collegiate youth about a very funky bus.)

So this all means that I've been keeping my mind off of the lack of money pretty well. I was worried about my cell phone bill, but I have credit with them and don't have to pay it off until late June.

But our fellow alum/intern Ray is sick with strep, and he's been gone all week.

:(

And Hunter and I haven't been feeling 100%, so....well, we went out and emergency-stocked ourselves with juice and fruits. Wish us luck in battling the beastly bug.

But now...to work, I say! Have a good weekend, everyone!



playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter