a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



you're the best domestic partner ever
2003-12-08 10:07 p.m.

Last night, Hunt and I had a little argument.

You see, he hasn't really had to worry about the planning for the move. I researched movers. I found movers. I found an apartment. I scheduled the move. I arranged for plane tickets. I risked emotional explosion to gain my parents' help.

So he's been along for the ride, so to speak.

All I asked was that he be ready to help pay for the move when the movers arrive and demand a large chunk of cash for our stuff.

He's been fighting getting a local bank account all summer and all fall. Every paycheck he got was sent to Rhode Island for cashing. [Sending endorsed checks in the mail!]

Anyway: yesterday. I said "We need to go get the cashier's checks tomorrow." (I warned him about this far in advance; it was not the first time I mentioned it.) The movers won't accept anything but cash, money orders, or official bank checks. Standard policy.

"How much do I need to pay?" he asks me. (Again, I actually walked over to his desk and told him in person when we got the final price last week. We've known the estimate for about a month now.)

But I inform him yet again of the price per his request.

[A pause.]

"I'm not going to be able to get that. My daily [ATM] withdrawal limit is [much much less than the amount.]"

This is where I start to get miffed. He's telling me this as if it is my oversight. In a "Well, that's too bad for you" sort of tone.

"Hunter, this is not optional. I told you about this."

"What if I just give you a check and you..."

"Hunt. I told you about this in advance, right? I don't have the money to pay for both of us up front, and your check will take 7 days to clear. We need to pay separately so that we can get reimbursed separately. I TOLD you this."

Hunt gets defensive and mopy, and after several minutes says "Well, I'll open a bank account and write myself a check."

"Hunt, that's not good enough. That check will take 5 to 7 days to clear. The movers get here on Tuesday."

"Well, can you think of anything better?" he asks as if I am somehow failing him by not having a solution.

His tone makes me angry. I try and stay calm. "No, and that's not my responsibility. I have planned this WHOLE MOVE and all you had to do was help pay for it."

At this point he accuses me of yelling at him and hides in his blanket.

@!$#@$%#%!!!!

"I am not yelling at you. If I were YELLING at you, my voice would be raised and I'd be slamming doors. I *am* angry that it's been a month and you haven't even THOUGHT about how to solve this problem. I have planned this whole move. It is not my responsibility to solve all of your problems for you. I don't care how you do it, but figure out a way to get that money by Tuesday."

After about 40 minutes of moping, Hunt apologized for "being broken."

I really wish he wouldn't try to stop me from being angry by trying to get me to pity him or feel sorry for him.

Anyway, he decides that he can wire himself the money from his useless RI bank account. We wake up this morning and go to the bank so that I can get a check and he can open the account.

I wait in line and get my check while he's sitting with an attractive banker behind me. When I finish, Hunt catches my attention and motions for me to sit next to him.

"Guess what I forgot," he asks me, as if it were something to be proud of.

"I don't know."

"My driver's license."

"You didn't bring photo ID with you to the bank? Where is it?!?"

"Well, I had to take it out when we were getting on the plane. It's in my suitcase."

"You've been DRIVING without your LICENSE for a week and a half?"

At this point, the teller asks for our home phone number. Hunter looks at me.

"What's our number?"

@#$@%^$&$@@!!!

Apparently, the banker was willing to let him go home and bring back his license after setting up the account.

During the course of this procedure, I had to give Hunter our home phone (twice), his work phone number, our work address, and remind him and the bank teller that our home address includes a very important apartment number, which Hunter had forgotten to provide.

At one point, he turned to me and exclaimed, "You're the best domestic partner ever!"

...

I really have to wonder sometimes how the hell he would get along on his own.

It's just frustrating having to act like his mother. That's not romantic and it's not fun. It makes the relationship stressful and he always second guesses me after asking me for information. He gets all defensive when I get miffed and accuses me of yelling. And then when he later feels guilty, he tries to make me feel sorry for him by acting all "broken" rather than just admitting a mistake and moving on.

I just want him to take some responsibility for himself.

GAH!

Anyway, all of this means that the final phase of the move is tomorrow. Movers arrive with stuff, we pay movers, all is done. I hope all of our stuff makes it...

After all of that, the company holiday party is tomorrow night at some fancy expensive dinner theatre. I don't know what to wear. The only thing I do know is that it will most likely be in bad taste to wear a bandana on my head as I will likely be doing during the move.

Sigh.

playing:
Mario and Luigi: Superstar Saga (GBA)

reading:
out of books

feeling:
annoyed

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter