a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



deja two
2003-01-14 3:05 p.m.

I've made it through one day of classes, and the snow is snowing up.

that is to say that, outside my new project room's window, the snow goes up. just like Lucy from the Peanuts says it does. whooooosh.

(I think it had to do with some kind of building exhaust, but that means it's remarkable that the snow doesn't melt on contact with the warm air.)

****

Today was my first day (take two) at my old design firm. I walked in to discover that my boss's wife was 3 weeks early, so he's already on paternity leave. Guess I'll see him in March, or something.

My first project isn't helping with the redesign of a large bank website as previously thought, either. I walked in and I got my very own project - redesigning the company's phone system. It's cool when I get little projects that I can do on my own. Good for getting my feet wet and getting some experience.

the receptionist, Barb, is totally the nicest woman ever. We were about to sit down and talk about the phone system when she just erupts with "Do you need chocolate? I feel like I need a chocolate" - and she pulls out a secret stash of gourmet chocolates from her desk. :)

So it feels pretty good, even though it's kind of spooky to have so many people laid off and not there. But there's an infinite supply of every soda and beverage product imaginable for free to keep me from worrying about that too much. ;)

****

Last night, Hunter and I had Lakshmi over to hang out. We ordered KFC, watched an episode of Buffy (third season; the Zeppo - actually really good), and played 2 games of Mario Party 4. A well rounded evening. And Lakshmi got me this huge "New American Bartender's Guide" for my birthday - it has like 2,500 drinks in it. Wow.

****

I'm only taking one elective this semester - Game Design. It's pretty cool. Our first assignment is to redesign the game of Hopscotch. The professor is an ex-imagineer who helped design Toontown Online, and he's got this great way of totally surprising us with his humor. Originally I was thinking of switching to another animation class, but now I think I'll stick around for the ride...



playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter