a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



"never wear peach at a ball."
2003-04-04 12:39 a.m.

I finally got to see my dress for Into the Woods.

It's a little more rennaissance/fantasy than I expected, but who am I to complain?

Definitely not poofy, though.

Anyway, we had some serious issues getting me into it. It actually fits around my ribs fine, but my chest...well, yeah. Nowhere for the massive boobage to go.

I ended up giving up and dragging Hunter into the office with me, where he pulled the zipper shut as I squashed my poor breasts and shoved them upwards.

The result was a peachy-orange gown and a very precarious, very pronounced bustline slash cleavage.

(The costumer suggested we not zip the costume and just use safetypins, but I KNOW i would fall out of such a precarious arrangement. I'd rather risk the reduced circulation of the current arrangement, thank you.)

Oh, and it turns out I *do* have to wear petticoats and a slip onstage for the first scene.

Top that off with my "costume" for the one-act (a revealing bit of lingerie), and the theatre troupe's going to be seeing much of me this month. Watch out, boys.

I'd better kick it with the free weights and the situps. No better motivator than several hundred or even thousand people seeing you scantily clad in the very near future.

Oh. We had our first read-through for "Fidelity" today, and it turns out my character is actually a lesbian. What she's doing in bed with a middle-aged man is beyond me, but she ends up dating one of his other mistresses.

This would be my second lesbian theatrical role - my first being as lesbian sheep-herder and executive TV producer Susan Johnston in the Heidi Chronicles.

I love this diversity in roles. That's the good thing about not at all being the ingenue type. There's a variety of other roles that open up to you.

Back when we were videotaping the dinner scene for the New York production, a couple of theatrical people (who had majored in it at various schools) asked why I hadn't just gone into film or theatre. They complimented my presence "onstage" and on camera.

I hate when people do that... not because I don't like hearing those nice things, but it makes that silly dramat voice inside my head say that I should go and throw myself into the theatrical industry. And we all know how that would turn out. Besides, I have a degree now. I can do something practical with my life, right?

God only knows.

But I'm happy I auditioned for "Fidelity". It was also a little weird - the director is a freshman - and a really, really nice one at that - but he started talking about how lucky he felt to have us all on his cast, what with me an ex-president of the troupe and darren a very accomplished director/actor, and Katie a current board member. I really wish he wouldn't think about that. I know some people think that I'm just a power fiend or that I think I'm all the shiznit, but I'd really rather just be a colleague and a friend to people in the troupe now.

That being said, I think the group of people involved with this mini-production is just awesome, and I hope we feel like a little mini-family by the end of it. They're all people I'd love to know better.

Well, time to go home. Sleep!

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter