a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



bimbodropping
2003-04-29 11:27 a.m.

It seems that my directors just can't get enough of the bimbo.

In rehearsal last night, we were going over the notes the Board of Directors of the troupe had for us after Board Preview. BP is an interesting beast, a bizarre ritual all shows must endure as a rite of passage.

It really is literally passage - the Board must vote to "pass" the show in its current state as acceptable for staging.

Anyway, as it turns out, the Board didn't have many notes for me - they just noted that it seemed I was "mugging" some of my lines.

I took this to mean I was milking the lines too much, and so in the next run of the show, I really toned down the stupidity of my character as an experiment.

After we were done, the directors had this to say:

Director #1: "Really great, guys. But Athena! You were... bimbo-dropping!"

Director #2: "Yes, I definitely noticed bimbo-droppage on some of your lines. Where'd the bimbo go?"

So apparently the bimbo was a good thing. Not to worry, my directors. It will be back. Oh yes. It will be back.

But it was nice to hear that I was doing it right in the first place. I had an inkling, what with ComposerMatt hugging me and thanking me after Board Preview (he was there since he's also acting in the festival).

That's a rare feeling - knowing your portrayal has made the playwright happy. :)

Playing Ann has been fun, and a nice bite-sized challenge to keep my mind off of graduate school politics. It's a nice bonus that the show was received well at previews - and I look forward to the performances on Saturday.

Performances that will assuredly be sans bimbodropping.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter