a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



game girl at work
2003-08-18 2:41 p.m.

I'm now a member of the Console Team.

I've never seen so many consoles in one room in my life. 4 Xboxes (3 of them dev kits), 2 Gamecubes, 2 Playstations, and a few Game Boys.

And that's just the producer's office.

I have been issued a platinum GBA SP with a dev build of our SimPortableGame and instructed to play it. They're going to order one for me to keep until the game is done. (Oh, the horrors!)

All of this fascinates me - how this hodgepodge of dev systems and weird Game Boy cartridges and computers all manage to make a console game.

I'm a little miffed today since I'm currently listed as "production intern" rather than "production team" in the credits for the game I just left - but something is better than nothing, I guess. And my name's in the game.

(then again, it means my name is mentioned all by its lonesome, making it somewhat more visible. maybe a compliment? nah.)


I need to impress these console people so that they bend their headcount and give me a fulltime job.

The anxiety about this is making me physically ill. Ugh.

Of course, I need a lot of things. I need to get a federal consolidation loan so my student loans are more easily managed. I need to get insurance now that I'm no longer a student. (or won't be very soon). I need to budget for those loans so I'm not caught unawares when they come due.

Did you know that the Japanese have a "Morality Board" that reviews all video games? It's true.

And yet this is the country that gave us hentai.

Whatever.


Hunter really wants me to see a therapist. Of course, I can't afford that right now. Don't have the time, either. But, you know, he thinks the crying all the time isn't healthy or a good thing.

(What makes him think that?! I'm so normal. Oh yeah. Totally.)

I just finished reading Portrait of a Lady. I liked it - or, I got involved with the characters, whether or not I liked the crappy ending. but the language sure slowed me down. It would often give the effect of characters exclaiming random bits of text, often as the climactic end to a chapter. So, in the spirit of Henry James, I end this entry with this thought:

"Mister Slowbottoms, you are such a cudgel at tea!"

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter