a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



it's not contagious
2003-07-10 6:35 p.m.

We're not going to talk about last night.

On the scale of emotional cleansing, from one to ten, we charted somewhere up in the numbers that sound like the search engine.

We are very, very broken people here.

But I guess as long as we know each of us is broken, then it's ok if we pretend that we're not?

I'm so confused.

And BORED! Damn, no work, no work, no work!

Today I:

- Specified filenames for our walls in the Asset List.
- Wrote some catalog text.
- Got reference art for 2 skins.

...BORED!!!

And I tried to offer help to people. But they don't have any work for me. So I sit playing the damned computer game we're making and feeling guilty because a) This Is Not Work and b) I'm Using Programmer Motive Cheats Because I Don't Have Time To Really Play The Game.

But my boss comes back from vacation tomorrow. I can ask him about Maya during our meeting, provided we have one. And ask for work.

There is a scheme, though. My friends are tricksy. Their team needs a producer. Until they ship. In February. But they need one internally - can't hire a new one. So they have to steal.

And I'm not busy, so...

Keep your fingers crossed. It's my only hope (that doesn't involve Mickey ears)at this point.

I also emailed one of my friends at Disney. I hope I hear from her. I'm terrible at "networking", so I merely hinted at my current job search, but... I don't have my hopes up.


On the way to lunch today, we were waiting for the elevator when Mr. Will Wright and his Important MIT Friend came into the lobby. We shared an elevator.

I shared an elevator with two millionaires.

One of them could even be legitimately classified as "eccentric".

Yet, somehow, inexplicably, I am not any richer. Nay, my Wells Fargo online statement shows a remarkable continued lack of significant fundage.

Damn. So much for wealth being contagious.


We're going to see a movie tonight.

We don't do this very often. Partially because there are NO THEATERS out here. Seriously. It's CALIFORNIA and there's nothing. I had 120 movie screens within 20 minutes of my house in the Philly area. Expand that to 30 or 40 minutes, and your head will hurt with the cinematic possibilities.

But here? 1 or 2 theatres. 16 paltry screens. Seriously, people. Get your act together.

We're going to see Pirates of the Carribean. Heard nothing but good things about it, it's been reccomended to us, and I like it when Disney does things that don't suck (Are you listening, Eisner?)

[editor's note: one disney move that would not suck would be hiring me. just a thought, mr. imagineers.]

Oh, and LA in 24 hours! As an addendum to yesterday's note - I mentioned we might be going to a party in Malibu.

Talking with my friend Liz, I discovered that we both considered it a Barbie and a fictional place, in that order.

So I'm mildly skeptical. I will report back on the factuality of the existence of said "Malibu".

Very exciting stuff. But I'd better go try to get...um...nothing done at work before we go.

Right.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter