a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



out of the woods and into the fire
2003-04-14 3:47 p.m.

i'm not going back again to sree's, I think.

Sree's is the Indian food truck near campus. Every time I ate there this semester, I got sick. and he raised his prices. So no more of that.

I continue to be inexpressably frustrated with this program, and mostly Brenda. Our playtests yesterday were so intensely stressful, and I didn't get to test my interface because I didn't have enough working models to run it. (A selection interface does not work well when there is no choice to speak of.)

However, my Game Design professor Jesse continues to rock my world. He gladly gave me a one-week extension on our most recent assignment. Today in class, he brought in a ColecoVision/Atari system and showed us old Atari 2600 games. Awesome.

Meanwhile, SimCompany continues to have the friendliest HR department I've seen. Part of today's correspondence with my recruiter:

I had a feeling you and Hunter were a couple because you have the same address, but didn't want to be nosy and ask ; ) So I'm thrilled, too,that you will BOTH be here this summer. It will make the adventure that much more fun for you guys!

Friendly and observant!

I desperately hope that they will offer me a full-time job at the end of the summer.

And ideally Hunter too.

The cast party last night was fairly lame. Bright lights, people who weren't involved with the show at all, and juvenile games (spin the bottle, anyone?) just didn't do it for me.

I did have a very enjoyable long conversation with the ITW choreographer, Darren. We swapped war stories - and it meant a great deal to me when he said that he was really impressed with Side by Side by Sondheim (the show I choreographed for the troupe.) Darren's a fantastic dancer and director, so that made me all warm and fuzzy.

We also had friendly dealings with the voice majors - Hunter and I have done several social events with them this past week, including an evening of drinking and good company at our place - and they seem to be much more accepting of us as a result. I don't feel so much like an outsider anymore, which puts me in a much healthier state of mind.

*****

Several people have mentioned that I look like I've lost weight recently. Yay!

(It's not entirely healthy weight loss, due mostly to illness/lack of eating, but I'll take it where I can get it.)

And now that the show is over, I can get my hair cut again. And I stopped biting my nails a few months ago...in general, I feel much better about my physical appearance.

Such confidence is conveniently timed, since it will be 83 degrees tomorrow and time to break out the shorts in the city of PFunk. Maybe even sandals!

*****

In other news, the friend of mine who asked me to write a recommendation letter for him for an internship at a prestigious regional theatre in New Jersey tells me that he's been asked to do an on-site interview with them. I guess I didn't totally botch the letter. :)

*****

My parents came to the show on Saturday night, and yesterday morning I had breakfast with them. Nothing terribly important was discussed, but I thought I'd mention it.

But it was a barometer of just how bad things have gotten for me here with Brenda:

When they jokingly asked me to come home with them, I was sorely tempted.

And that's scary.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter