a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



siminterview
2003-03-15 12:11 p.m.

whooooo! I'm so happy!

Just as this horrid week was coming to a close yesterday, an email arrived in my inbox.

Hi (muppetathena),

Hope this finds you well. Well, I'm back in the driver's seat for the internship program, having been freed up from my "regular" recruiting responsibilities. (name removed), the producer on [Game] Expansion Pack team would like to talk with you about an internship on his team. What is your availability for a 20-30 minute phone conversation early next week?

Zing!

yaaay! I replied back to Lisa almost immediately, letting her know that I was hella-interested and what my availablilty was.

And she wrote back almost immediately!

(snip)

What will be exciting about this team is that they will be going full steam on the [next] expansion pack, so you would be totally hands-on and be there for most, if not all of the work. So you'd get a game credit!

I'll follow up with you either Monday or Tuesday regarding next steps!

The part I like best is the recruiter trying to sell me on the concept of working for this team. Don't worry, guys: you had me at, um, "Sim." P>

And what's this about next steps on Monday or Tuesday? Companies never move that fast. Might I know that soon about whether or not I'll be in the Bay Area for the summer? WHEE.

Wow, I really needed this. And wanted this.

And now I just hope I don't fuck up the interview. "You guys make movies, right?"

There's a part of me that would be happy just to go back to Disneyworld and intern there again. I know the spot is there. And it was wonderful.

But then again, I need to branch out, or I'll be a one-company girl the rest of my life. And everyone I know that has worked at this "simcompany" all ended up taking full-time jobs there, save one, who was interning for Will Wright, and he'll be able to get a job no problem with his little Letter of Recommendation from the God of Gaming.)

It's amazing how one's outlook on this whole process can change so quickly.

Now I can't wait until Monday. And that's saying something.

playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter