a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



we're definitely not in kansas
2003-05-29 11:39 a.m.

On Monday, we went into San Francisco to a wing place with some alumni from the grad program.

It was mostly current SimCompany interns and employees plus our Pixar friend and some other person who works at some other place. :)

Halfway through, our friend and fellow alum from ILM stopped by, and the conversation became a little surreal. Friends talking about which movies they had worked on, with comments like: "Yeah, I really want to work on [an upcoming film] - but I have a feeling that I'll be recruited for Episode 3 [of Star Wars], and I really don't want to work on that."

Sheesh.

Privledged lives, or something.

You know what's scary?

I think I am procrastinating to avoid playing a video game.

Life is all too weird.

I feel like I should play the latest chapter in the game I'm working on, since I should know how it works. But I keep coming up with reasons not to play it. I have the whole damn thing on my computer here, along with the bits of what we've got so far. Why am I being so silly?

I guess because I just don't understand how playing a video game can be work. Even when you're making one.

On Tuesday night, after our first day of work, Hunter and I went to a cute Thai restaraunt downtown - where we proceeded to experience our first California Blackout(TM).

The shy waitress looked up and said "Hmm. Second time today."

Welcome to California!

Luckily, our apartment was spared. Apparently the office also had a blackout, but I didn't notice - everything seems to be hooked to UPS boxes.

But the intersection near our apartment wasn't spared. A building fire alarm was going off, and the traffic lights were off. Amazingly, this intersection involving a 4-lane highway managed to traffic itself. People took nice, orderly turns. One way of traffic, the left turners, then right turners. Then the other road. Rinse, lather, repeat.

This must happen alot around here.

California's already having a positive influence on my health.

(Of course, there was the initial adjustment period, where my body rejects every atom of the new area and I have massive allregy attacks for 3 or 4 days.)

But now there's a farmer's market a block from our apartment every Sunday, and plenty of fresh regional fruit and veggies at local supermarkets. We're trying to make do without a microwave for the summer, which makes us in general shy away from processed foods more.

I'm already losing some weight, it seems - my size 5's from Express finally have some extra room in them again. I'm very excited. And I love having strawberries on my Cheerios in the morning.

All in all, things are pretty good here. I did have a highly disturbing dream a few days ago involving my dad - fucked me up good for a day or so, and I had trouble sleeping last night - but I won't go into it now. It's time for me to stop procrastinating and start work. (Or...playing.)



playing:


reading:


feeling:


Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter