a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



we are pleased to offer you...
2003-10-16 5:23 p.m.

I got it!!!!!

The job offer I've been shooting for since May. I got it! VA pulled me aside last night and gave me the offer letter!

It's a huge relief, and exciting, and scary. I'm not starting out totally entry-level either - they are hiring me as an Assistant Producer II, which is essentially one step up the ladder from where you normally start. :) A nice surprise, and a compliment!

"I tried to get more money for you, but then you would have been making more than the other AP II's that have been here for years..."

Thanks, VA, but I think I'll be just fine. [She's so awesome.]

The money isn't bowl-you-over-amazing for California living, but it's quite enough, especially when I'm living with Hunter. It's pretty much exactly what I had hoped I might get in this economy, plus full benefits. As it's a big company, there's also a yearly bonus. I also get stock options. [Too bad the stock's at an all time $#%@#$ high...]

But the KEY point here is - I have a JOB, and I am no longer going to be homeless in January. Furthermore, I am a grown-up - no more "intern" or "co-op" or any of those other titles that scream "not ready for real responsibility yet."

VA was very complimentary in our meeting - apparently she's been talking about me with the execs. It looks like I will continue to work on the SimGBA game until December when we ship, and after that a Sequel. I've really enjoyed working with her - all insane stress of running the project in her absence aside - and I think I can continue to learn alot in this position. She also takes care of her team - my laptop and VPN hookup and office TV and consoles stand as proof.

So I'm happy. [My mother couldn't be happier.] And Hunter's boss is very happy for me - and says Hunter's letter is coming! :)

BUT.

This means we are DONE with Pittsburgh. Point of no return, it's time to... move.

Like most of the human race, I abhor moving. And that's just little moves. Like, the 5-block move we made when I graduated.

But across the country? I'd sooner ram my head repeatedly into a spiky wall.

Regardless, it needs to be done. I am looking into quotes. Trying to find a moving company. Ew, ew, ew ew EW.

Not only that, but my start date is December 22nd. They sort of need me. I get time off for Xmas, yes yes. But I will need to use that time to move. December 27th thru January 1st? Yep. Packing.

I wanted this, right? Time to be a grown-up.

Anyone got a teleporter handy?

playing:
SimGBA Game. No, I haven't finished it yet.

reading:
"Wicked"

feeling:
Triumphant yet anxious

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter