a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



3.92
2004-01-16 1:36 p.m.

Today shall forever live in infamy as The Day I Won A Free Sandwich.

Background: On the "ground" level of the SimCompany office complex there are three main eateries: Cafe Dolce, Cafe Giacosa [known as "Gia-gross-a"], and the "Million Dollar" Deli.

I don't eat at Giagrossa, since I've been warned. Dolce makes sandwiches for you from a list of their specialty sandwiches.

The "Million Dollar" deli - not its real name, but so named since you pay by the ounce - is mainly a make-your-own sandwich and salad bar. They weigh your finished sandwich and give you a price - but as a gimmick, before you weigh they ask you to "Guess my price!" If you guess your sandwich's weight correctly, you get it free.

Of course, this is easier said than done given the irregular cuts of meat and those hard-to-predict, water-heavy tomatoes. And what's the weight difference between wheat bread and a croissant?

So I've been guessing my price for months, but to no avail. Sometimes I'll guess $4.07 on Tuesday only to get a $4.07 sandwich the very next day.

But today? I noticed that the atmosphere in the deli was different - they were playing classical music instead of the great hits of the 80's, 90's, and today. Little did I know what an omen that was. I made my croissant sandwich as usual. I stood faithfully in the weighing line...but hope I did not for free food, due to all of the failures before. "Guess price?" asked the kindly old Korean woman. I only briefly pondered before I answered her: "3.92".

I watched the scale with anticipation - the clerk tared incorrectly once, so she had to re-weigh the sandwich. When the rapidly flickering numbers came to a rest, she looked, then looked at me and asked "3.92?" I nodded, and looked at the scale to find that "3.92" was displayed in large red numbers. I was triumphant!

Words cannot describe the elation I feel. I've saved nearly $4! I can also attest to the fact that a free sandwich is most definitely more satisfying than a paid sandwich.

In fact, I believe my life's goals are closer to complete, now that I've faced this hurdle. More importantly, I've joined the pantheon of successful sandwich-guessers who will go on to fame and approximately $4 more in their vast fortunes due to their savvy actions.

Praise be to the number of the day! $3.92! $3.92!

playing:
nothing

reading:
nothing

feeling:
SHEER TRIUMPH (with a dose of sarcasm)

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter