a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



meet Greg and Marsha
2004-02-05 6:42 p.m.

Life has gotten steadily busier at work. The storm is coming.

Today was a big deflater of a day. When I woke up, it held not only the impending presentation of my NPCDB, but an evaluation of our progress on the handheld team by execs Luc and Bruce.

Neither of these things actually came to fruition.

The DB thing was moved to next week "so we could deal with the visit". Then the execs spent so much time talking to other projects that they never came over.

The most frustrating bit was that I rescheduled my trainer appointment to accomodate the exec visit. Now I'm stuck with a nasty evening trainer appointment, when I really wanted to go and hang out with the developers from Seattle, who are in town tonight.

Sigh.

And I'm missing the Apprentice, too. Is there no end to the misery?

I'm just kidding.


These past few days, I have been an exceptional example of Cranky Whore PMS Bitch.

It's not a pretty sight.

And last night I didn't sleep particularly well, cuz, you know, the PMS ended. The day after we washed the sheets.

Ha, ha, Mother Nature. Very funny.


I never wrote about the Super Bowl party I went to. We went to Ray's house [I should really consider doing a "cast" page now, shouldn't I?] where we were joined by most of the object engineering staff from SimCompany, as well as Hunter's pseudo-boss Destry and Destry's girlfriend.

At one point in the evening, a couple I hadn't met entered the room. Hunter leaned over to me and said, "That's Greg, and that's Marsha." I gave him the Raised Eyebrow look until he said "No, really. Greg and Marsha."

Now, in a strange turn of events, I actually paid more attention to the game than most people. [I did have to ask a lot of Dumb Blonde Questions in the beginning, like "How do you get a down"?, because, well, I don't reserve space in my brain for football rules.]

Everyone else - Hunter, Ray, and the rest of the guys at the party - were more interested in funneling beers than watching the game.

Of course, the Beer Funneling crowd [I do believe Hunter was socking back his second at that point] missed the Boobie. Ah, irony.

As for me? I had brought a couple of Bailey's Minis and had one Smirnoff Ice. After that, I was done. But it wasn't a desire to be sober - nay, funneling beers - sophisticated as it is - didn't sound LOGICAL to me after having gone to my expensive trainer session that same day. Too many calories. Instead, I ended up consuming what was approximately my body weight in water and veggies.

After the Bowl ended, the party broke. Some people left, and 3 people started playing Mario Party 5 [there were only 3 controllers].

As it is no fun watching people play Mario Party, Hunter and I went into the other room where we suggested a lightswitch rave. Ray enthusiastically turned on some trance music, turned out the lights, and gave Hunter a little rainbow LED wand. Hunter raved it up for about 15 minutes before declaring defeat and plopping down on the floor.

It was not long afterwards that Ray, Hunter, and I were looking at a little computer game Ray was working on when a dark horse guest - more than 5 hours late, and entirely missing the Super Bowl, called to get help coming into the building.

10 minutes later, we were greeted with the positively icky visage of Freakish Pinball Geek, in all of his unwashed glory, loudly sipping soda from a grotesquely large Taco Bell cup. He came in, and as geeks are oft want to do, stood and watched us for several minutes before leaving of boredom.

Hunter and I took this as a sign that it was Time to Go.

But it was an interesting party, and better than spending the day in bed.

Well, maybe better.



playing:
the damned n-gage

reading:
nothing

feeling:
ow

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter