Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:55 p.m. - 2004-04-01
the Dude abides
Ah, Orkut. How I love thee.

For the uninitated, Orkut is an invitation-only social networking site run by Google. It's more "professionally" oriented than Friendster, which means that I've actually been able to use it to network in the gaming industry to a fair degree.

(I can't tell you how geeky-excited I was when Will Wright accepted my Orkut friend invitation after I talked to him twice last week. Squeeeeee!)

Of course, there are quite a few people who are on Orkut just for fun, and that's where things get interesting.

About once every day or two, I get a friend invitation from some random foreigner. Often this means a Spanish computer geek with long hair who is holding a guitar in his picture. Don't ask me why.

Sometimes the guys are just "collectors" - they friend anyone who's pretty - and sometimes they're geek guys who want to get to know me because I am "pretty" and also a geek.

This morning, I received a message and a friend invitation from one Eduardo. I have attached the email below...enjoy!


From: Eduardo (name removed)[mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, April 01, 2004 9:55 AM
Subject: Hi... please .. invite me !

Hello. My name is Eduardo. or just "Dude".. I`m working with Designer of multimedias, but i never working in the game production. I`m studing games nad interfaces and did look your site.

Do you work in [SimCompany]?

sim city , sims ... etc...

I see you X-men virtual reality. Is very good.. I very liked. Please Invite me.. I would very like talk with you. thanks.. I hope see you soon !


Ladies and gentlemen, "Dude" and his interpretation of the English language! Isn't he great?

Heh. Orkut.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!