a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



friends of friends of friends
2004-02-27 1:48 p.m.

Well, today is a right bit better than yesterday.

I chalk it up to the Stinkoman t-shirt.

Really, though, I woke up to the news that we had finally gone Beta on NGage, which is much more welcome news than the undisclosed-news-of-a-legal-vein that I received yesterday morning.

By noon, we had received LT signoff from all the territories, thus marking the end of the first Localization phase that I managed completely.

(Aww, loook, she's all grown up now.)

It couldn't have come a moment too soon for my sanity. VA will be back from London tomorrow. We'll have to work Sunday, but it'll be so much more leisurely now that the bug DB is down to single digits and the LT testers have been dismissed.

Now all we have to do is find out where we're going to live in a month and things might stand a chance of getting back to normal.


Anyway, yesterday night, I shunned the crappy catered food (actually, it wasn't that bad earlier in the week, but I believe in a "conservation of crappiness" law as far as they're concerned, so the danger was all the more real.) I convinced Amy and Cort (note to self: edit those Cast entries) to go out to dinner at the Mexican place across the street.

Over our (not as tasty as hoped) margheritas, we got to talking about Orkut, that invitation-only Friendster clone that Google created. Apparently, Amy knows someone at Google so Cort and Amy were members, and they sent me an invitation last night.

As you might imagine, I have spent most of the day in blissful social-networking unproductivity. The funny thing about Orkrut is that it really does make Friendster look ghetto. Not only that, but people take it more seriously since it's invitation-only.

In fact, several people I've worked with at SimCompany are in the system, including the Big Man himself, Will. It's a little weird to see him in my "network" (he's not my friend, but he's my friend's friend). As Amy mentioned last night, there are actually quite a few game industry "celebs" (a loose term in an industry by, for, and about geeks) in our network now.

And I'm totally being all fangirl and reading everyone's profile. Ha. I'm real mature.

But anyway, it's good fun. I made a community for our college theatre group. :) (Orkut was smart and let you create "communities" instead of Friendster's unsanctioned create-a-dummy-friend method of association.)

Wheee. Anyway, at least this distracts me from the dastardly relo situation.

And there's nothing funnier than seeing that Will is a member of the "GIANT SQUID!" community.

playing:
about to play Puzzle Pirates

reading:
Nothing! Ha! My inbox is quiet.

feeling:
relieved

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter