a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



did you hear you've been promoted?
2004-01-19 11:34 a.m.

I remember 3rd grade - the only time in my life that a teacher devoted significant time to MLK Jr.

The civil rights movement was one of Mrs. Tickel's favorite subjects. We learned everything about the Underground Railroad, Frederick Douglas, Harriet Tubman, Rosa Parks, MLK Jr. Spent about 2 months on all of that, actually - much more time than most teachers grant it.

Today I'm home from work. Who knew it was a real live company holiday? Hunter's at work, of course. But he did take the weekend off, so we at least had SOME time as a couple.


On Friday afternoon, I had a GBA design teleconference. It actually went really well, and they listened to my design ideas and liked them! I'm not sure that there are too many other groups in videogaming that would give a green Assistant Designer's ideas so much cred. Just another reason why SimCompany rocks.

The meeting was held in Mike's office [Mike is the design director for all of Console now]. One half of Mike's desk is completely covered in Lego bricks.

Can I just tell you how impossible it is to concentrate when you're sitting in front of a pile of diassembled lego bricks? They were calling out to me like the fricking One Ring. I did my best to resist their call... but I did construct this sort of staircase thing and a lame-looking dancing guy.

When we left the design meeting, we found out that we had missed TGIF - everyone was leaving with beers in hand. Several of them saw me and said "We clapped for you!." VA and I wondered what *that* meant. We went into the MPR, where one of the Console engineers explained that they had done new hire announcements, but that they had announced me as an engineer instead of an asst. producer. My response? "Engineer? Cool. Where's my new big paycheck?"

Apparently they mis-announced Hunter too, announcing him as an associate producer. I don't think it was too hard to get the levels right considering Hunter and I have been here for EIGHT MONTHS, but, you know execs. Sigh.

Friday night, we went to PF Chang's with Ray and Laura. Beforehand, I killed time by going to the gym because I am a good girl. Except I overdid it because I am a psycho workout queen. I did something like 110 pounds with the thigh-squeezing machine when I should have done 90 and I have been paying for it acutely this weekend.

PF Chang's was uneventful except for the part where Ray elbowed his martini glass and destroyed it. It was strange, the eagerness with which the martini glass shattered. There was no middle ground, e.g. "oh my god it's going to break" - it just exploded. Ray was lucky to get away without injury - just a little bit of glass dust on his clothing.

Afterwards, we watched X2 at our place. God, that is an AWESOME movie. *swoon* SO GOOD. I want to be one of the X-Men so bad, I think I'll swallow some uranium.

Ok, maybe not.

But we were watching the movie widescreen on our 20 inch TV, which meant that after letterboxing it was only slightly taller than your average bunny rabbit, sans ears. This set the stage for Sunday's outing to Best Buy. Yes folks, we're in the market for a Really Serious TV.

It's weird. When it comes to electronics like that, I am so much my father's daughter that it's frightening. I'm the one pulling for the big TV, not Hunter. And I've got expensive tastes, as it turns out. I scare the Best Buy clerks by asking questions they can't answer. :)

Anyway, we were looking at the TVs for about an hour. We're trying to decide if we're willing to plunk down the cash for a 50 inch widescreen LCD from Panasonic. It is not cheap, but it is AWESOME. There are less expensive projection TV's, but we will destroy those with our videogaming habits. [I love Link, but the last thing I want is his little row of hearts burned into my TV screen permanently.] We might even be able to fit it into the car...

But buying an HDTV just opens the door to hidden expenses. Once we get that, we need digital cable because our normal cable feed is crap. And we need a new progressive scan DVI DVD player. Oh, and a high quality surge protector since this is California. And renter's insurance.

But I don't think any of that is going to stop us.


My horoscope for this month in Cosmo said that "You will be in uncharacteristic couch potato mode this month." That is SO true.


Oh, by the way, I am so pissed that the Eagles lost. Hunter is a Patriots fan, naturally, and it would have been the best SuperBowl party ever.

Oh well. Go Patriots.

playing:
Nothing, but my wrist is getting better!

reading:
Nothing...maybe I'll go to B&N today

feeling:
Lazy

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter