a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



you try honey walnut??
2004-01-15 6:11 p.m.

My ass is still pissed at me for this whole "exercise" concept.

After going to hip-hop class on Tuesday, I was fairly sore. [It's amazing what that measly one-hour class can do to my butt and my thighs. OW.] I also sported a trademark Knee Bruise from the inevitable floor combinations.

Then I did lunchbreak-exercise at the gym yesterday. 20 minutes of cardio on an elliptical followed by a good 40 minutes of weight training and stretching.

I am soooooore.

I had to laugh when Kim came by to get me for another gym session today. I had a trainer/orientation session scheduled, but a meeting got rescheduled and I had to cancel. I'll try next Tuesday.

Oh well. Workouts are actually just as effective every other day - those muscles need some time to rest at first. I just wish i had remembered to use the squeezie-thigh machine when I was there.

Otherwise I've still felt pretty lazy, but my workouts justify the laziness. I'm certifiably addicted to Adult Swim now, and I even stay up to watch Inuyasha, which I am enjoying despite my best efforts. No reality TV yesterday, though - I was pretty proud.


In other news, there's another company holiday on Monday for Martin Luther King Day. Dude. Didn't we just get back from Christmas break?

I think I am going to release my database tomorrow for use. After working on this thing for like 3 months I'm just a little nervous about it...what if someone breaks it? What if it doesn't hold up? Sigh. My little datababy. All grown up.

Looks like I might not be writing tutorial text for SimSequel since one of their designers wanted to give it a try, and it really would have been too much work for me. No skin off my back. I really am working on 3 projects at the moment and owning parts of each of them...plus my side project with this whole database. Wheeeeeeeeeee.


Hunter really really wanted sushi last night, so I agreed to go with him to meet Ray and Laura for a sushi dinner. I, of course, did not partake of the raw fishes, because it is NASTY.

We've discovered that there's a certain unwanted burden associated with being a "good customer." There are now several restaraurants where we are recognized and welcomed in town, and that's all warm and fuzzy. They'll just fall over themselves backwards to be welcoming.

But since we're nice people, when they're nice to us we don't want to hurt their feelings. So we end up eating weird complimentary rice pudding that tastes like Mylanta at the Indian restaraunt, even when they hold back the check and take like 25 minutes to make it. We wouldn't want to hurt their feelings, because maybe they'll pee in our curry or something next time, right?

Now, Ray and Laura are regulars at this sushi restaraunt downtown, and so they've got the good customer vibe going. The staff already knows they'll want such-and-such appetizers.

But when the waiter suggested a Honey Walnut sushi that "isn't on the menu...we only bring it out for special customers," Laura agreed since it was a compliment, or something. (You know those wacky Japanese people and their 85 degrees of politeness.)

The special sushi was some kind of honey walnut avocado salmon deal, and as it turned out no one at the table liked it. Laura hates walnuts, and Hunter and Ray found it too sweet. Of course, they ate the whole thing since it was a "special" service.

Well, when the bill came, we all found out that the Honey Walnut sushi roll cost $15!!! [A normal "special" is $8.50, and normal rolls are like $6.] There wasn't even that much fish in there!!!

So much for being "special" customers.

playing:
nothing

reading:
nothing

feeling:
all of the muscles in my legs

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter