a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



it does a body good
2004-01-13 9:40 p.m.

Today was a step towards being less of a lazy bum.

I want to be toned again, like I was sophomore year of college. Right now, when I try to make my bicep bulge it sort of sags and creates a "u" shape not unlike a Looney Tunes character might boast.

Thusly, I used most of my lunchbreak to go to the 24 Hour Fitness that's a block from work and sign up. One of the SimCompany perks is that they pay all of the up-front fees for that gym so it only costs $30 a month. It's so ridiculously close to work that I will go there on lunch break a couple of times a week.

It was also my first chance to use a business card since I had to give them one as proof of my employment. :)

The staff was very friendly. Almost too friendly. The personal trainer dude who I get two complimentary sessions with [I'm not sure that this is part of the normal package] was simultaneously playing it cool and acting strangely nervous. I think he was trying to mack on me. Well, we'll see what happens on Thursday during our session, won't we?

I've got a lunch "meeting" with the Console admin assistant Kim, who is going to accompany me to the gym tomorrow for my first workout as a member. Safety in numbers!

Then tonight I dragged my sorry ass over to the dance studio for a hip-hop class. I'm not sure if I'll ever gel with hip-hop. Mastering a style of dancing is mastering those transitions between steps - but I look something like my mother every time I try to be slick. Sigh.

But it was a hella good workout because I am out of shape again and I haven't gone to dance in 2 months. I forgot how lovely and glow-y my skin looks after a good workout. One good reason to keep at it.

To round off my Day of Health, I stopped by the Whole Foods across from the dance studio (see why I love this town? it has EVERYTHING ... well, except that nightlife.) It was actually my first time to a Whole Foods. I bought a bunch of Fruit Leather things as snacks for work [Hunter and I first bought them at a random co-op in Indiana ... we recognized them from that Food Network show "Unwrapped".]. I also picked up some nice Gardenburgers (Safeway only has the trying-to-be-meat kind) and some Oriental veggie potstickers.

Between all of the Whole Foods stuff and my whole-wheat-pita-and-hummus habit, and I'm certainly on my way to wearing hemp or something.

Well, as a dutiful slave of Reality Television I must sign off now, for it is time to watch the Real World kids get busted. Woo!

Good night. Have some veggies!

playing:
Nothing, but my wrist is getting better!

reading:
Game Developer Magazine

feeling:
Healthy! But still soft in the waistline.

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter