a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



it's not quite fanfare
2003-12-22 11:12 a.m.

Today is a very unceremonious day to begin my full-time career as a game developer.

I came into my new cube, turned on the Christmas lights, and read a bunch of irrelevant emails about the SimSequel. [Out of my inbox, you scurvy producers!]

My boss is working at home (WAH) today, and half of the company is already gone. So I sent a few emails and now I'm posting again. Mercifully bored.

Oh, and we just had an earthquake. Fancy that... I thought I was just dizzy.


I did finish my Christmas shopping by spending most of my allocated "points" for games at the company store today. We get 10 "points" per year for free games - PC games are one point and console ones are 2 points.

I spent 8 points on my brothers. Wanted to get Doug Need for Speed Underground but they were sold out of the Xbox version :(. He will have to take SimCity 4 instead.

And Kyle is getting two lovely titles with my name in the credits. He seems to like that anyway. [It helps that he actually wanted these games...]


During my Christmas shopping yesterday, I couldn't help but look in the stores for all of the games I worked on.

Well, in most stores SimExpansionPack is plum sold out. And I couldn't find the GBA game either. I hope that means we are sold out and not just forgotten. The Console versions seemed to still be in stock. Marketing made a big mistake when they gave the GBA and Console versions the same name. Argh! Next time will be different. ;)


I'm sort of not psyched about flying back across the country. Much as I loathe this, I'll probably be looking at all of the other passengers on my flight and wondering if they're the type that would put explosives in their shoes. [Dirty socks don't count. Usually. Although there was that news story awhile back about explosive sock residue...]

I get in at 5PM and our traditional Xmas mass is at 7:30PM. Not bloody likely, that.

Well, it will be...interesting.

My heart almost broke, though, when I was on the phone with my mother yesterday [The Birthday Call] and Doug [my 20-year old brother] said "When's my sister coming hooome?"

playing:
Trying to synch the SimExpansionPack on my laptop

reading:
nothin'

feeling:
queasy

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter