a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



a soul-sucking silence
2004-02-11 1:55 p.m.

I don't have much to say today.

This just says it all.

[By the way, "30 miles to the east" is patently false. Actually, it's a 50-mile drive to the southeast. Across the Bay.]

I can't concentrate on my work. I'm amazingly exhausted and drained and depressed and tired.

I want to go to bed.

It's creepy here at work today. A lot of us look like walking death. Some people have such sadness in their eyes because they're choosing between a job they love and a house and family situation that they can't leave.

We all need a hug.

So it's overly quiet, and every conversation starts out with "So where do you live?" - trying to feel out who we'll be seeing on March 26th when we wake up in our new space.

I just find it painfully ironic that the Reuters article mentions us running out of space - but the announcement yesterday took place in a cavernous, recently vacated office space directly adjacent to our testing floor. We could have had that space if we wanted it.

But apparently we didn't.

We have apartment showings scheduled for Saturday. The apartments down there are even more expensive and they seem harder to find. There's also the whole "will the peninsula turn into the city of Atlantis in the next earthquake?" question, but it doesn't seem to make sense to only move halfway.

And now that a particular high-profile layoff has occured, Hunter's workload gets even bigger. That will sure help us plan and pack. Makes it TONS easier.

Just a few days ago I was happy and content. Spring was coming, we had our lives in order, and Hunter and I were finally getting settled in our lives and getting more comfortable with a new stage in our relationship.

And now this.

I think I'm going to curl up under my desk and sleep.


And Now For Something Completely Different: Today's Completely Serious Zen Moment (sponsored by AIM:)

Athena: i just can't get past the frustration. I feel like I wanna cry right here. But you've listened to me rant enough. How are you doing?
Reagan: Well, er.....
Reagan: Things are going very well.
Reagan: LOTS of work. But Romero is also MIA
athena: MIA? Charming Hollywood types.
Reagan: He's writing something with Stephen King or some shit and has locked himself away in his house.
Athena: I hate it when people do that.

If I had a nickel every time someone I was working with holed themselves up to collaborate on a Steven King novel -

Well, I guess I wouldn't have very many nickels

But they'd be SCARY nickels.

playing:
nothing

reading:
nothing

feeling:
drained and depressed

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter