a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



happy birthday to me
2003-12-21 5:38 p.m.

So the mail thing just gets better and better.

Apparently, the Post Office only recently decided to implement a vacancy list that our complex had sent them several months ago. Since yelling at the Post Office, our mail has resumed.

Barely.

The bank paperwork Hunter was expecting never showed up, and neither has our power bill.

Worse, when I talked to my mother yesterday, I found out that she had mailed me a letter with a "birthday present" - quite a sum in cash. Not a check, but cash.

AAAARGH.

So my birthday present from my mom, our power bill, and Hunter's bank documents are all lost somewhere, and I'm so fucking pissed. Happy fricking birthday.


I did have a strange conversation with my mom yesterday, though.

Mom: "Well, I wrote this in the card [sigh] but you know, don't go buying any of the things you asked for."

Me: "The hard drive and the firewire card, right?"

Mom: "And the iPod."

Me: "Umm... I never asked for an iPod."

Mom: "Oh yes you did." [in a tone that says well, too late for that!]

Me: "Well, I won't argue..."

Heh. Funny thing, that. I really don't remember asking for one. I may, possibly, potentially have mentioned at one point in the past year that they were cool. But not asked for one.

I sort of feel guilty now, since the intent was never for them to get one. It's been a rough year for my family.

But it's not like she's going to return it or accept money for it. Oh well.


We went holiday shopping today, Hunter and I.

Naturally, it was a frightening mess. And half the people in the mall didn't speak english. I didn't have too much to buy since Kyle and Doug are getting video games [they asked for them, and I won't argue].

I always start out telling myself that I don't need anything, and cracking under the weight of consumerism and cute clothes. I need more of a backbone over here. Of course, it WAS my birthday so I don't feel TOO guilty: I only bought 2 pairs of shoes and 4 pieces of clothing for myself. Yay.

I did have to resist the temptation to get Dad a bottle of Prozac for Christmas. Between Hunter and I we surely could have dug up an old prescription....

And let's not even try the whole card thing. "Dearest Father, I'm so glad you didn't kill the family in a murderous rage after all?" "Merry Christmas and Welcome to Therapy"? Not typically Hallmark Sentiments.

Anyway, the whole birthday has been low-key, which is better than last year, anyway. Most people are already out of town, my family's on the opposite coast, and I've already had my pah-tay. Hunt and I will be dining at PF Chang's this evening and exchanging Christmas gifts.

Twenty-three years old. So much has happened this year. Of course, I say that every year. But 22 was my first trip to California, my family's bankruptcy, Dad's suicide/murder threats, another semester of grad school [ugh], performing in Into The Woods, the GDC, moving to California, and my last internship/first real job here at SimCompany.

There have been big downs and very big ups. I turn 23 as a real live adult with a real live job, and I'm not piss poor. Praise be! [The fact that my dad didn't hurt anyone and is now in therapy is an added bonus.]

But the time for reminiscing is at the end of the calendar year, when I can have my very own pretentious awards show for "The Best of Muppetathena 2003!" (Of course, the winners get little gold Pikachu statuettes...)

Mark your calendars, folks. ;)


Closing Observation: The local Targ�t has applied for a License to Sell and Serve Alcoholic Beverages.

Dear Lord, help us.

playing:
Mario & Luigi

reading:
Nothin'

feeling:
Shopped out

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter