a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



elephant love medley
2004-03-10 10:05 a.m.

Maybe I should list more expensive stuff on my Amazon wish list.

Background: I was updating my personal website since it was getting Orkut-induced heavier traffic, and I wanted it to be up-to-date. (I especially wanted to remove the part about looking for work, since lots of SimCompany folks were lookin' at it and I'm now happily employed here, thank you.)

When I updated the website, I added links to a few things - my MobyGames profile (it's like the IMDB for video games), a half-hearted news blog I had put together - and then, on a whim, I put my Amazon wish list up there. I figured that it was the easiest way to tell my family what I wanted for Christmas and stuff. ;)

Fast forward to today. I'm on the phone with Europe (yes, all of it) when an office mail guy dropped off an Amazon box at my cube.

"Now," I thought, "maybe I'm on drugs, but I certainly don't remember ordering anything from Amazon!" (I'm moving in a week, so I'm trying to avoid the mail altogether.)

But the address label clearly said "Muppet Athena, SimCompany", along with the requisite address information, of course.

I curiously opened the box to find a small gift-wrapped package and a note.

"so it's been 7 years; apparently you've been quite busy. drop a line. (insert email address here)."

The gift was indeed something from my wish list (moulin rouge soundtrack - the good one with the actual music from the movie and not that "inspired by" stuff).

Of course, I got confused and opened the envelope first, which had the receipt in it. But the receipt, as it turns out, also has the purchaser's name on it, so my mystery gift giver is revealed. Turns out it is from one Ryan, a guy I knew through forensics in high school and did in fact date briefly. (very briefly.) So it's a present from an ex.

Bizarre.

At least, I'm pretty sure it't this guy. The first name doesn't match but I think he used his middle name instead.

Weird or no, it would be rude *not* to respond, so I guess his ploy for attention probably worked.

...I certainly didn't expect anyone to actually USE that wish list.

playing:
nothing

reading:
the note

feeling:
surprised

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter