a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



she looks up to you
2004-03-09 6:45 p.m.

I cannot accurately express my rage at an unnamed publishing partner right now.

So I won't. But DAMN. Talk about your mindboggling unprofessionalism.

Of course, as is always the way with these things, my boss is "out" for the next 2 days with some stupid executive training seminar. Which leaves me to deal with the Unprofessionals and the two festering open wounds of unshipped games we're still dealing with here.

No, not bitter.


For the record: I'm wearing a dress. And strappy sandals. In the second week of March.

Sometimes, California rocks.


My dad just sent me a copy of Vicki's dad's obituary. He was only 56. :( Now I'm crying at work too. I wish I had more time during the day to call and make sure Vicki was OK. I hope she's ok. This is so amazingly sad.


I experienced a very awkward moment yesterday in a meeting with VA, our Exec Producer, and our Design Director. We were brainstorming on a new product we're working on (incidentally, I'm currently in the "OMG THIS IS TEH c00l" phase about this particular project.)

At one point, XProd. turns to VA and says sardonically "So, when's your next vacation? You haven't had one in like, 2 weeks." Which, in actuality, is not too far from the truth, as I am sure some readers may remember.

She replied "April - I have to get up to the cabin! We haven't been this year!"

At that point, XProd turned to me and under his breath told me "She is not a good role model" while pointing at my boss. Of course, she caught on pretty quick, so he raised his voice. "I'm serious. You avoid doing what she's doing and [he makes a zooming motion with his hands] in 2 years you'll blow right past her," he intoned with complete seriousness.

VA responded by saying "That's the idea!"

At this point, I didn't know what to say. VA was playing along, but it seemed like XProd was giving me a backhanded compliment at my boss's expense - and I really like my boss. So I nervously laughed and smiled, and in a minute or two we moved on. But the subject came up at the end of the conversation, and he again brought up this whole you'll-advance-right-past-her thing.

Ew. Awkward.


Sometimes it sucks to be a girl, and yesterday was one of those days. About an hour after I got into work, I was hit with these amazingly painful cramps, and soon after I received a visit (if you know what I mean.) On the one fucking day I wear khakis to work. Seriously, the universe is out to get us. Did I mention our GBA lead tester was hit by a car? On his birthday Saturday? Oh, yeah. He was. He's out for the week, poor guy. He's OK but fairly shaken up.

I swear, between the lawyers and the car accidents, it seems like the universe is trying to tell us something.


MoveWatch 2004: A week and 4 days until we move. Again. I'm currently playing the new personal theme song "The Old Apartment", and getting particularly bitter about the whole enterprise.

I fear for my professionalism when we go to Seattle Monday/Tuesday, for Monday night will no doubt involve some vast quantity of alcohol followed by another night of terribly disorienting turndown service.

2 days later, we sign a lease, and 2 days after that we move to what will likely be known from now on as CollegeTown.

It's going to be a grand month.

playing:
an unannounced SimGame

reading:
game certification reports

feeling:
aggravated

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter