a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



spell check saves lives
2004-03-03 11:11 a.m.

I have a remarkable collection of toothpicks on my desk.

It's from my sandwiches, purchased downstairs at Dolce or the Million Dollar Deli. There are 4 colors of them - red, yellow, green, and blue.

When I'm on the phone I tend to nervously arrange them into a little rainbow.

God, I sound like Rainman or something here.


Did you know that ESRB is a four-letter word?

And that's all I'm going to say about that.


Because I have nothing better to do, apparently, aside from submitting our game and finding out we have major crash bugs, I've been spending lots of time on Orkut.

The points system is... interesting. You can rate people as "trusty", "cool", and/or "sexy" (1-3 points each).

And it's anonymous, so you can be pseudo-honest.

There's this one guy on there - AJ - who's got something like 60 friends. I remember him as the Annoying Guy who Always Went to SWE Meetings (society of *women* engineers). He asked to be my friend, and I said OK mostly because it seems silly to burn bridges on a social networking site, eh?

I have to feel bad for him, though. He has 59 friends, but of the three categories of points, he only has 8 trusty points. No cool points or sexy points, and no fans (even though he's a fan of like 20 people.)

Sort of sad in that picked-last-for-kickball sort of way.


I wonder if Internet litter is ever going to be a problem. You know, maybe we'll see posters like:

"Only YOU can prevent Internet clutter!"
"Uncle Sam wants YOU to stop posting!"
"Spell Check saves lives!"

I mean, I've dumped a fair amount of crap on the Internet in my day. Lots of online journals...a banner creation service...an Elmo fansite (shudder)...a half-assed blogger website...countless resumes...the list goes on. And some of those pages are out there, archived, stuck in time.

I'd really like to obliterate some of those pages ;) /P>


Poor Hunter is just not himself lately. He's so insanely stressed about work. :( Sort of "what comes after ever after?" phase - he's in the games industry like he wanted, but now he's on this horrific beast of a project that is sucking his soul away.

Tonight won't be much of a relaxing romp, since we need to clean the apartment in case we have showings this weekend. Hunter's leaving tomorrow to visit his family over he weekend. Maybe that will refresh him - it usually does. But we have to clean up before he goes.

And then a week from Monday I have to go to Seattle again. Somewhere in the middle of all this we are supposed to arrange for a move?


One last thing.

For the past few weeks, I have found that my brain's default "elevator music" (you know, songs that pop up during showers or other moments of inactivity) is christmas music. As in, "We need a little christmas! Right this very minute!" I think it should really be, "I need a little therapy! Right this very minute!" Seriously - I am the antithesis of merry right now. I turned down an invitation to go get half-price margeritas last night because I was weepy and frustrated. Why am I bopping around singing Christmas carols? ...The world may never know.

playing:
puzzlepirates

reading:
emails.

feeling:
OK

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter