a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



my optimism glass is half-empty
2004-02-26 5:20 p.m.

Well, fuck.

I wish I could convey how utterly ridiculously bad this morning was, but I'd have to break my NDA and I imagine that's not a good thing.

Let's just say I hate 8-hour time differences, N-Gage screenshots -- oh, and *lawsuits*.

Fucking a. Last night in the grocery store, Hunter and I seriously pondered buying some alcohol for the office.

Now I really wish I had.


After my hellacious morning, it is my fate to sit and wait for a call from my boss regarding Crisis #1 from this morning. My desk looks like it is spawning handheld devices like bunny rabbits. My cube is clean since I was supposed to give a demo to an exec (but as always, it was rescheduled.)

Yesterday, I left work early with Hunter to go look for apartments. And you know the company line - "take the time you need to get the relcation done." But when you ACTUALLY take the time suddenly the world is falling down around your inbox and you're being summoned in absentia to the execs' offices.

I really don't know how they expect us to do this.

Anyway, it was almost laughably miserable. *Almost*.

Each time we went to get out of the car, it started to pour. It then promptly stopped when we got inside. The apartments weren't that great, either, and neither of us is in the best of health what with the insane stress on our shoulders right now.

(I can honestly say that several million dollars hang in the balance of my daily work right now with VA.)

We drove home looking like Death and feeling like it too, speaking in strained tones and falling asleep in the car. We're exhausted physically and emotionally by the second move and work. It's killing us.

The only thing that made us smile was the cute little mini Cadbury bunnies that they were selling at the grocery store. They cluck when you squeeze their paws. We must have stood there for 15 minutes playing with them, and trying to make the apparently agonizing decision of which one to buy. (Neither of us could decide. Eventually we picked the first one we played with; it seemed only fair.)

When you can't make a decision about which bunny to buy at the grocery store, it's fairly safe to say that you're either insane or dwelling in some sort of magical middle ground between adulthood and preschool. For Hunter and I, it is most definitely the latter.


Near the breaking point, we've decided that we will do one more apartment search over the weekend. If we do not find something, we have an appointment scheduled at a fancy complex that Ray and Laura are moving into. It's above our comfort level financially, but at this point we don't give a shit anymore.

To the apartment search, we say "no".

Of course, the added stress is causing me to revert to my carbohydrate-comforted ways. I just bought a bagel from the vending machine and ate it, and I feel horrible now. (I've already had 2 eggos, a chicken sandwich, and a snickers bar.) Can't keep the weight off if I slip into full loaf-consuming mode.

At least I've laid off the Pocky for the time being.

I want to go home. I want to watch The Apprentice. (for the Best! Board! Room! Ever! Ha!) Incidentally, Hunt and I are sad that Average Joe: Hawaii will be ending next week. We love that show. But then I will be a little more amenable to doing things on Monday, at the very least. ;)

(If we manage to get an apartment that *doesn't* cost over $2k a month, I'm totally going to get a Tivo. Reality TV owns me.)

playing:
puzzle pirates and the games we're making

reading:
nothing

feeling:
exhausted and shell-shocked

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter