a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



in my own little corner
2004-02-16 6:14 p.m.

I don't think things could get any more melancholy over here.

Unless, of course, they start piping "Everybody Hurts" through the PA system. (Real World much?)

Well, the boss is gone, and it's fucking lonely here. Outside, it is cold and constantly raining. The lights are mostly out, as they always are, and all of the cubes around me are empty. Meanwhile, it's President's Day - we don't have off, but apparently all of the places that serve food nearby did. So for lunch I bought a frozen meal from a convenience store, only to burn the broccoli in it because the package cooking directions were patently false.

And then I get a call from my boss in England this morning, telling me that the build computer at our London contractor's office has suffered a catastrophic hardware failure and is no more. This on the day I have 12 people in 5 countries waiting on a newly translated build from me.

Now the earliest we'll get a build is sometime tomorrow afternoon in London. Which means I'll probably get a cell phone call about it at about 3AM our time, at which point I must come into work, transfer the build, and go back to bed.

I thought Friday the 13th was OVER.

Meanwhile, we have to keep looking for apartments, and the "relocation packages" we were promised on THURSDAY have still not made it to our desks. Hunter and I, being assistant producers, do not hold out much hope of receiving our packages before our Social Security benefits kick in.

So I'm not feeling too great today. It perked me up mildly to get emails from two friends this morning - the first from Max, who is having a worse time with everything right now and who really needs lots of hugs and booze and friends right now. The second was from Esther, who, despite being from the Netherlands has already heard about SimCompany's move.

But little will pull me out of this funk. The thing about depression is that it's non-discriminatory. Your depression might have started because of The Move, but The Depression doesn't care. It will question your life choices, your character, your horrible fashion sense, and your poochy stomach and thighs. It will turn you into a slobbering pile of compliment-fishing self-pity.

It's going to be a great week.

playing:
a yet-to-be-announced game

reading:
craigslist

feeling:
eeeeverybody huuuuurts

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter