a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



shampoo and cut
2004-02-01 12:01 p.m.

Guess who's been a lazy little Muppet? Three guesses and the first two don't count.

I SHOULD be going to the gym more often. I guess it's a damn good thing I paid for those trainer sessions or I'd be getting nowhere fast.

Yesterday I did manage to get something accomplished. It was a positively beautiful day outside - sunny and 55 degrees, warmer in the sun.

I dragged my big butt out of bed at 1PM and poked around on my computer for a bit before deciding to bite the bullet and get my hair cut. Not at the cheap-ass place I visited in October. Oh no.(Its name is "The Grateful Head." Yes, I was desperate and I didn't know that I'd be going full-time. ;)

This time I went to the fancy-schmancy salon that's a block away. They couldn't see me until 3:30, so I wandered around the shopping district for a while to kill time. Got some books at B&N and took my first peek at Crate and Barrel to see what they had. [Not terribly impressed. But they do have a lot of different glasses for holding liquor.]

My new hairstylist is named Mark -- he has the stereotypical lisp and fashion sense to go along with the job. He did a very good job with my hair, and it was nice to be able to afford more than the "broom cut" I got last time, back when I in the land of hourly employees.

Of course, we have yet to get to the first self-wash and blowdry, which is really the test of a new cut. If *I* can make it look good, then it's a decent cut. All else is smoke and mirrors. I did buy some (ridiculously expensive) styling products because I'm sort of traumatized by all of the random curly hairs now, and I want them to go away. Apparently these magikal creams and sprays might just do that.

The good news is that my hair still seems to be agreeing upon straight....for now.

Superbowl plans for the day: go to Ray's house. Do not pass Go. Drink lots of alcohol. Hang out with a bunch of the engineers from work. I have no idea if it will be enjoyable or not.

Last time I went to Ray and Laura's, the evening ended with the boys crowded around Final Fantasy XI while I gave Laura a tutorial on how to buy RAM and upgrade her computer. The poor girl bought a new Dell in October but only bought 128 megs of RAM for an XP box. Outlook took about 12 minutes to load. A check of her free memory with 1 IE window running put her at something like 20 kilobytes free. (Wow, you can almost run DOS with 20K.)

OK, no more geek. I'm just sayin', this whole Super Bowl thing might get old fast. It's not like I like football or anything.

I just got a call from my trainer [at 12:10 PM] who said "We had an appointment at 12 today, right?" Now, he was there when I set the appointment up for 1PM. Not only that, but he called me on Friday and asked me what time it was and I said 1PM.

Isn't he supposed to be the responsible one here?

Sigh.

Well, we'll see how it goes. I only have 8 more sessions after this so it's not like I'm married to the guy if he turns out to be a flake.



playing:
Nothing

reading:
Nothing, but I have 2 books now!

feeling:
Unmotivated

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter