a new year
2005-01-14 - 9:09 p.m.

Conclusion, and a New Beginning
2004-11-06 - 1:54 p.m.

-
2004-09-01 - 6:19 p.m.

midnight
2004-08-23 - 5:24 p.m.

where I went, and where I'm going
2004-07-27 - 8:05 a.m.



he's so dreamy
2004-01-09 5:43 p.m.

Thus marks the end of my first full week of full-time employment.

We had a meeting today - first big Console team meeting of the New Year. We spent the first 5 minutes watching a clip of MTV veejays airing a music video of our game characters dancing to Outkast's "The Way You Move."

I love this industry.

On a funnier note, I had to meet with our studio's General Manager today. Now, our GM appeared on a bonus disc about the Making of SimSequel, and ever since, he has accumulated a small Internet following of fangirls. [He's in his 40's, but he is tall, tan, and French, as well as well-dressed. I guess that's enough. ;)]

Actually, right after I got the meeting request, an email went out to our Fun and Games list with a link to a new fan site with pics of our GM and general fawning. I had to laugh.

Hunter kept joking yesterday about how he should be worried. ;) Silly Hunter. All cheekiness asidem, I was surprised to note that he actually looked pretty cute today - leather jacket and grey mock turtleneck and all.

What a silly thing. This is a silly company. [For those who are wondering, the meeting was short but went well - he seems to like my work on the database, thank God.]

I must stop myself 10 times a day and thing "God, you're a lucky bastard." I'm still generally in awe of the position I'm finding myself in.

A year ago, I was just another grad student wondering if I'd be homeless when the time came to strike out on my own. In the past 7 months I've worked on 3 published games and one as-yet unpublished title, and I've got another two in the pipeline.

[For any of you who are regulars, I promise I'll stop being so damned retrospective soon. ;)]


In other news, I just can't get away from the writing thing. The exec on SimSequel has apparently begged their text lead to get me to write all of the tutorial text for the game [which hasn't been written yet, and is very important as the first thing new players will see.] My boss just told me that she wants me to write for an as-yet-unannounced title this summer. All of the text for the other two titles I'm working on will go through me. I'm still a little overwhelmed.


But now is not a time to settle, even though I'm happier than I've been in years. I need to get a life of my own outside the office. All work and no play makes me a very poor judge of what's going on out in the world.

In that vein, I'm considering buying a car, so that I can get myself to rehearsals/classes/what have you, depending on what my plans are. I want to take voice lessons, and I'd love to get into theatre in the area.

But a car is a scary grown-up purchase with lots of hidden costs like insurance and registration, and problems like finding a second parking space at the condo. Maybe my money would be better spent by paying off a loan or two? Is that worth it? I don't know.


Tonight Larn and Obi are coming up from San Jose to drink and play LOTR Trivial Pursuit. I know, you're jealous of our geeky fabulousness. ;) Who needs trendy bars and expensive tasty martinis when you have...Orcs?

Sunday is SHOPPING DAY, apparently. Esther (my friend from the Netherlands, currently working on SimSequel) and I - as well as the Asian LT testers, who are just adorable fun girls, will go on a shopping rampage. Northern California, be warned!


In general, though, I'm very happy. I'd be taking this opportunity to make more sardonic and terribly witty posts in the absence of real drama, but my wrists have been really causing me problems lately, and I've been trying to rest them as much as possible.

I've been good - I haven't played any video games outside of work in a week!

[That sentence seems a little backwards, but it makes sense, I promise. ;) ]

I hope to go buy a power drill and keyboard tray for my desk at home soon, though, and then there will be plenty of posting from home.

For now, all you need to know is that I go home, watch TV, and check up on the Kerry campaign. [Kerry for President! Dean is a schmuck!] I'm not going to go through another election year disconnected and uninformed, I promise you that. Last time I let my guard down, y'all elected *Bush*. [sigh...]

In any case, it's time to shut down the Ipod, shut down MS Access, and go get trashed.

Best wishes to all - happy Friday.



playing:
Nothing!!

reading:
Nothing!!

feeling:
CONTENT :)

Cast of Characters

About Athena
previous entry -- random entry -- next entry
Site
Meter